Australasia's Biggest Online Store

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Thorn Ogres of Hagwood
By

Rating
Product Details

Promotional Information

The first novel of an enthralling fantasy trilogy-perfect for fans of The Hobbit-by bestselling author Robin Jarvis

About the Author

Robin Jarvis (b. 1963) spent most of his school years in art rooms. After a degree course in graphic design, he worked in television, making models and puppets. One evening, while doodling, he began inventing names and stories for his drawings, and thus began his writing career. His first book, The Depford Mice (1989), established Jarvis as a bestselling children's author. Jarvis came up with the story for Thorn Ogres of Hagwood while on a forest hike, when he heard a racket up in the trees and saw two squirrels chasing each other. He suddenly thought that perhaps only one of them was a real squirrel and the other an imposter, and so the werling creatures were born. Jarvis has been shortlisted for numerous awards, and won the Lancashire Libraries Children's Book of the Year Award. One of his trilogies, Tales from the Wyrd Museum, was on a list of books recommended by then-British Prime Minister Tony Blair for dads to read with their sons. He lives in Greenwich, London, and still makes model monsters, mostly on the computer.

Reviews

"Jarvis turns up the volume on his trademark suspense blended with whimsy, and readers are drawn deeper into the magical conflict through Gamaliel and Finnen's involvement. Fun for Hobbit-addicts and Potter-philes of all ages." -Publishers Weekly "The intriguing characters, fast-moving plot, and thrilling (and sometimes gruesome) action will be popular with many readers, and the ending will leave them waiting eagerly for another installment." -School Library Journal "A sure bet for fans of heroic fantasy." -Booklist "[T]he narrative gradually builds tension to a furious, action-packed climax. Fantasy adventure fans will be grateful for the cliffhanger ending that promises another installment." -Kirkus Reviews "Here is a richly woven tale! Robin Jarvis has created a marvelous, mysterious new landscape, peopled with characters who truly come alive for the reader. I look forward to returning often, and to following many quests deep into Hagwood." -T. A. Barron, author of The Lost Years of Merlin "Thorn Ogres of Hagwood is a rattling good fantasy adventure . . . Author Robin Jarvis has created wonderful characters . . . Most intriguing is young Gamaliel Tumpin-a werling with a pinch of Harry Potter [and] a dash of Frodo Baggins . . . I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series."-Robert D. San Souci, author of the Short & Shivery series

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Thorn Ogres of Hagwood (The Hagwood Trilogy) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top