Australasia's Biggest Online Store

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

They Will Have to Die Now
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

James Verini is a Contributing Writer at the New York Times Magazine and National Geographic. He has also written for The New Yorker, The Atavist, and other publications, and has won a National Magazine Award and a George Polk Award.

Reviews

"They Will Have to Die Now is the story of what happened after most Americans stopped paying attention to Iraq. It's a small miracle that a writer as good as James Verini witnessed the battle of Mosul. His book is erudite, humane, bleakly funny, and unbearably sad. It will take its place among the very best war writing of the past two decades." -- George Packer, author of Our Man and The Assassins' Gate
"Verini's firsthand account of the Battle of Mosul is a thing of terrible beauty." -- Jonathan Franzen
"They Will Have to Die Now is a vivid, captivating, compelling, and graphic account of the major battle against the Islamic State in Iraq, the Battle for Mosul...James Verini conveys brilliantly the often tragic ancient and modern history of Iraq, and he captures superbly the brutal reality of one of the most intense urban battles since WWII. In so doing, he describes the terrible hardships experienced by the Moslawis and both the worst and the best of mankind in war." -- Gen. David Petraeus (US Army, Ret.) former commander of the Surge in Iraq, US Central Command, and Coalition Forces in Afghanistan, and former director of the CIA
"James Verini's book stands comparison with the pathbreaking works of modern war journalism that meld into great literature. One has to go back to the Vietnam War and Michel Herr's Dispatches to find such a vivid, poignant, and historically grounded narrative of an appalling war; a war caused no little by the misdeeds, missteps, and malevolence of the myriad powers and forces that have tried to dominate the Middle East." -- Ali Allawi, former minister of finance, defense, and trade of Iraq
"With the eye of a novelist and a historian's sweep, James Verini tells a moving, gripping, complexly layered story of Mosul, from the private calamities of its present to the buried dynasties of its past." -- Larissa MacFarquhar, author of Strangers Drowning
"This is a stunning book, brave in its reporting and beautiful in its writing. It is funny and sad and seared into me, and I can't recommend it highly enough, not just to people interested in the truth of a war but to anyone in search of the truth of humanity." -- David Finkel, Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter at the Washington Post and author of The Good Soldiers
"This is such an important and deeply nuanced book. Verini paints absolutely convincing portraits of the Iraqi soldiers trying to take their broken country back, and in humanizing them, he joins the ranks of Liebling and Pyle and Gellhorn-American journalists able to embed so selflessly with soldiers, to listen first and theorize rarely, to tell a story as it happened. He does us and the Iraqis trying to rebuild, after decades of catastrophic war, a service." -- Dave Eggers, best-selling author of Zeitoun, A Hologram for the King, and The Circle
"Tough, smart, and vivid, this is a book that renders war and battle with the deft hand of a fine writer. It will haunt you, engage you, and stay with you." -- Susan Orlean, New York Times best-selling author of The Orchid Thief
"An urgent, scalding, hallucinatory work of war reportage, in the tradition of Michael Herr and Philip Gourevitch. His account...captures the horror, the nobility, and the sheer grinding absurdity of twenty-first-century warfare...A significant achievement." -- Patrick Radden Keefe, New York Times best-selling author of Say Nothing
"The definitive account of one of the most pivotal and bitter military campaigns of the modern era...This isn't typical military history, though, but an eyewitness account of what happens to ordinary people who find themselves living on the battlefield, the compromises they must make to stay alive...This is war reporting at its very best." -- Scott Anderson, author of Lawrence in Arabia
"James Verini plunges you into the heart of the climactic battle of the Iraq War and won't let you leave. He seems to be everywhere, gets to know everyone, vividly chronicles everything he sees and hears-and never once calls attention to himself. The weapons may be new-drones and iPads and executions on YouTube-but the blood and confusion and betrayal are as old as war itself. They Will Have To Die Now is an astonishment." -- Geoffrey C. Ward, coauthor of Ken Burns's The Civil War, The War, and The Vietnam War
"A deadly accurate, richly illuminating, profoundly saddening work." -- Gen. Merrill McPeak, US Air Force Chief of Staff, Ret.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling They Will Have to Die Now: Mosul and the Fall of the Caliphate on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top