Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Tamarisk Row
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Lots of recent press attention for Gerald Murnane, including in The Guardian and a major New York Times Magazine profile No 2 of five Murnane novels from And Other Stories as we launch him in the UK

About the Author

Gerald Murnane was born in Melbourne, Australia, in 1939. He is the author of eleven works of fiction, five of which will be published by And Other Stories in the coming years. He has won multiple high-profile awards across Australia including, most recently, the 2018 Prime Minister's Award for Border Districts. He lives in the remote village of Goroke in the north-west of Victoria, near the border with South Australia.

Reviews

`The greatest living English-language writer most people have never heard of . . . The next Nobel Laureate in Literature.' New York Times Magazine`Murnane, a genius, is a worthy heir to Beckett.' Teju Cole ---- `An image in Murnane's prose has the quality of an image in colored glass: One both sees the image and sees through the image simultaneously.' Benjamin H. Ogden. New York Times ---- `Murnane's writing is carefully, thoughtfully worded, his deliberations seemingly open, even as there's obviously much more hidden care and attention behind it:' M.A.Orthofer ---- `The seventy-eight-year-old Nobel Prize contender writes like a clockmaker: every sentence is a finely tooled cog, every book an exquisite machine.' Australian Book Review ---- `Impressive, sustained attention is paid to this strange dream-zone of childhood' -- Claire Lowdon, Sunday Times ---- `An authentically modernist novel ... Its themes, as well as its technique, place him in the tradition of Katherine Mansfield and James Joyce' - Jon Day, The Guardian ---- 'Tamarisk Row is a remarkably acute portrayal of what it is to be a bullied, confused boy, while Border Districts is dazzling for its austerity, its cruel purity. Their sentences ring in the ear, and the novels stay with you.' - Daniel Swift, The Spectator ---- 'From a boy following Bassett Creek to an old man patrolling the borderlands, Murnane's books are expeditions that encompass a territory unlike any other.' - Chris Powers, New Statesman ---- `Murnane's fantasies are many-layered, and the narration weaves between these and his mundane life in thrillingly long, lyrical sentences.' Christian Lorentzen, London Review of Books

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Tamarisk Row on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top