SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Sun King's Garden
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

For fans of The Tulip and The Naming of Names by Anna Pavord and character-driven narrative history such as Georgiana by Amanda ForemanThe Sun-King's Garden will be illustrated with 30 colour illustrations and over 50 black and white illustrations - a lavish book to give and to keepA book to appeal to a wide variety of strong markets: the gardening market, the history market (giving, as it does, an alternative angle on the story of France's most fascinating king) and the gift market

About the Author

Ian Thompson studied Philosophy at the University of Newcastle (1974-77), and later completed a B. Phil and Ph. D. in Landscape Architecture. After qualifying as a landscape architect he worked in practice first in Glasgow and then on Tyneside. Between 1986 and 1992 he was a Senior Landscape Architect in the Planning Department of Gateshead Metropolitan Borough Council. He currently teaches postgraduate Landscape Architecture at Newcastle University.

Reviews

'Lavishly and intelligently illustrated...the best account currently available in English of how and why this extraordinary prodigy of gardening art and regal vanity came into existence.' Sunday Telegraph 'Lively and well researched, studded with anecdotes and fascinating statistics.' Daily Telegraph 'A superb account...the book is as delightful and masterly as the project it describes.' The Spectator

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Sun King's Garden: Louis XIV, Andre Le Notre and the Creation of the Gardens of Versailles on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top