SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Summer of My Greek Taverna
By

Rating
The humorous and sometimes bittersweet story of a man in love with a place, a woman and a dream - part memoir, part travelogue with recipes - for fans of Frances Mayes and Peter Mayle. The place was Patmos, the tiny Greek island where St.John received the apocalyptic vision recorded in the Book of Revelations and Tom Stone wrote his first novel. The woman was a French painter, his wife, Danielle. The dream was to return there for one last summer with Danielle and their two young children. A telephone call from a Patmian friend, Theologos, offered Stone the opportunity to go into partnership in his restaurant, a beach taverna named The Beautiful Helen. He jumped at the chance, much to the dismay of his wife, who wisely believed in the old adage about not trusting Greeks bearing gifts. No longer a tourist, Stone quickly learned hard lessons about Greek skills at bargaining and their use of the Evil Eye. Not only did he struggle to run a restaurant that closed at three a.m. and opened for fishermen at seven, he was also forced to come to the painful realisation that Theologos was cheating him out of thousands of dollars. Yet there were many joys: the beauty of the island, the friendships with both the natives and foreigners he had come to know over the years, the yachts that arrived from Mykonos for dinner and the support of his family.
Product Details

About the Author

Tom Stone was a Broadway stage manager and assistant director for ten years before he moved to Greece, after twenty-two years of paradise and heartache he moved to London and finally California. He has published a novel and several books about Greece and has six screenplays under option.

Reviews

Time The summer's best travel writing...like Kitchen Confidential with ouzo. The New York Times Book Review His infatuation with the place (whether "fueled by an excess of retsina" or not) is infectious.

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Summer of My Greek Taverna: A Memoir on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top