Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Stormy Weather
By

Rating
New or Used: $4.94
Product Details

Promotional Information

From the author of the critically acclaimed 'Enemy Women' comes a brilliant new work of fiction set against the dark days of the Great Depression. Jeanine Stodard sees her family's future rise with each new oil rig that emerges from the Texas hills, and fall with her father's trips out to the dance halls and gambling joints in each new town they set up in. But when her father dies, in dubious circumstances, he leaves behind four women who have no place to go but the abandoned family farm. Elizabeth, her father's widow, invests the last of their money in a million-to-one shot oil well; Mayme, the eldest daughter, applies for a job at the oil company in her tattered dress and dreams of her Prince Charming; Bea, the youngest, scribbles stories in her Big Chief pad and dreams of being a writer; Jeanine, the proud, stubborn middle child, finds the threads of her life woven together of the old Tolliver homestead in surprising ways. They all share but one inheritance left them by their no-good father Jack Stoddard: a dangerous, racing stallion named Smoky Joe. In dark and affecting prose, Paulette Jiles illuminates the hardship, sacrifice and strength of an ordinary family caught short by circumstances beyond their control. / Affecting and engrossing,'Stormy Weather' is the brilliant new title from the highly acclaimed author of 'Enemy Women'. / Paulette Jiles has won the Canadian Governor General Award -- Canada's highest literary honour and the Roger Writer's Trust Fiction Prize. / 'Stormy Weather' will appeal to fans of Geraldine Brooks and Tracy Chevalier -- it is ideal reading group material. / Guaranteed review and feature coverage on publication. / Competition: Sebastian Faulks, Charles Frazier, Arthur Golden, Tracy Chevalier, Isabel Allende, Geraldine Brooks.

About the Author

Paulette Jiles was born and raised in the Missouri Ozarks and now has dual citizenship with Canada. A critically acclaimed poet, she is a past winner of the Canadian Governor General Award, Canada's highest literary honor. Her previous book 'Enemy Women', was highly acclaimed and a New York Times notable book.

Reviews

Praise for 'Enemy Women', a Sunday Times Read of the Week and Glamour's 'Must Read' 'I loved "Enemy Women". It is a gritty, memorable book, full of the things I like best in a novel -- a sparky heroine, an unsentimental love story, a confident retelling of the past. It is a delight from start to finish, without a single misstep.' Tracy Chevalier, author of 'Girl with a Pearl Earring' and 'Falling Angels' 'With the eye of a poet and the rectitude of a historian, Paulette Jiles travels the backroads of the American Civil War and returns with a story that is both gripping and gorgeously rendered. Adair is destined to find a place of honour among the great heroines of modern fiction.' Geraldine Brooks, author of 'Years of Wonders' and 'March' 'Remarkable!entirely deserving of the plaudits it will doubtless continue to receive here. Jiles isn't content with merely telling us something we know already, but sets out to show us what this means, in images of startling beauty and horror.' Christina Koning, The Times 'Although "Enemy Women" is rich in historical research, it is partly Adair's unexpected modernity that makes it so compelling, as she battles her way through war with sharp rejoinders and a waspish wit, by turns fierce, wily and pragmatic!Jiles's epically plotted novel moves to a beat as irresistibly vernacular as its heroine's confession.' Hephzibah Anderson, Observer

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Stormy Weather on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top