Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

The Stolen Child
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A gothic intrigue, for fans of The Snow Child, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Sarah Waters and M. R. Carey.

About the Author

Lisa Carey is the author of THE MERMAIDS SINGING, IN THE COUNTRY OF THE YOUNG, LOVE IN THE ASYLUM and EVERY VISIBLE THING. She lived in Ireland for five years and now resides in Portland, Maine, with her husband and their son.

Reviews

Some books set up house inside your soul. The Stolen Child is one such book. Utterly magnificent -- M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS
Startling, bewitching and new; the world of Lisa Carey's The Stolen Child is less a tiny island than a multi-layered universe. Fierce and vivid in its portrayals of community, superstition, sexuality and the human need to believe and to connect, it's a novel which resists sentiment and instead plunges into the visceral quick of myth and legend, while keeping a clear and intelligent eye on the reality of how people are. Carey's women in particular are unforgettable: this is a novel to devour -- Belinda McKeon, author of TENDER
A piercing exploration of regret and desire, longing and love. It is a gorgeously written, inventive, and compelling novel -- Ayelet Waldman, author of Love and Treasure
Dark, dazzling, quintessentially Irish . . . The Stolen Child is completely and utterly ravishing -- Monica Wood, author of ANY BITTER THING
St Brigid's Island is the sinister, seductive home to several individualistic, spiky women. These women know that their world is peopled with more than can be seen and they collude with and push against those sources, often with frightening results. The Stolen Child is a gorgeously written book about female bonds and the ferocious pull of motherhood. Compelling, eerie and beautiful -- Nuala O'Connor, author of MISS EMILY
The Stolen Child is captivating - savage and tender, with a deep respect for the transcendent truths that lie in human pain. It grabs you, shakes you to your core and keeps you turning those pages. Leaving you reeling, sated and in love with its characters, landscape and utterly believable magic -- Mia Gallagher, author of HELLFIRE
Fans of Gothic intrigue have a treat in store. The Stolen Child by Lisa Carey has all the right ingredients for a good yarn: a windswept island, a jealous twin and a woman in search of a miracle * GOOD HOUSEKEEPING *
It's a brave author who names their book after a Yeats poem. But Carey's understated tale of complex women living complex lives is steeped in the strange, chilly tone of the 19th century verse * SFX MAGAZINE *
Carey paints an ethereally vivid picture of a legend drenched in fear, betrayal, love and desire - proof of her lyrical genius -- Lucy Frith * STYLIST *
Carey employs a generous dose of magic realism to leave you guessing, crafting a dark, devastating fairy tale that will keep you up into the wee hours * IRISH INDEPENDENT *
Her distinctive voice shines throughout The Stolen Child, which casts a spell upon the reader in its opening prologue and does not let go until the final devastating moments * IRISH TIMES *
A deserted island off the west coast of Ireland provides the vividly imagined setting for a tale of superstition and lust * GUARDIAN *
A powerful, bewitching gothic tale of betrayal, superstition and desire. * THE LADY *
This is a captivating, eerily beautiful tome; full of mistrust, dark magic and superstition -- Jennifer McShane * IMAGE MAGAZINE *
With some artful weaving of fact and fiction, history and legend, harsh reality and Celtic myth, Carey has created an elegant and deeply evocative work of fiction. -- Anne Cunningham * IRISH SUNDAY INDEPENDENT *
Lisa Carey's The Stolen Child does what few tales dare to - get inside your head and refuse to leave. Set on a mysterious windswept island off the coast of Ireland, St Brigid, the story centers on its intriguing community and follows two sisters: Rose blessed with beauty and disfigured Emer, who was blinded in one eye by a swarm of bees and who has a curse - she can harm with a simple touch of her hands . . . This is a captivating, eerily beautiful tomb; full of mistrust, dark magic, and superstition - you won't be able to put it down. * IMAGE MAGAZINE *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Stolen Child on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top