How does Fishpond Work?

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Somnambulist
By

Rating
'Be warned. This book has no literary merit whatsoever. It is a lurid piece of nonsense, convoluted, implausible, peopled by unconvincing characters, written in drearily pedestrian prose, frequently ridiculous and wilfully bizarre. Needless to say, I doubt you'll believe a word of it.'So starts the extraordinary tale of Edward Moon, detective, his silent sidekick the Somnambulist and a devilish plot to recreate the apocalyptic prophecies of William Blake and bring the British Empire crashing down.With a gallery of vividly grotesque characters, a richly evoked setting and a playful highly literate style this is an amazingly readable literary fantasy and a brilliant debut.
Product Details

Promotional Information

An amazing literary fantasy debut. Whether with the League of Extrordinary Gentleman, The Crimson and the White or Arthur and George Victoriana has never been hotter. A beautifully written tale,a fabulously flawed narrator Nothing quite like this on the Gollancz list - perfect literary crossover Perfect for fans of Mark Gatiss' The Vesuvius Club Barnes is a reviewer for, amongst others, the Times Literary Supplement

About the Author

Jonathan Barnes is a debut novelist. He graduated from Oxford five years ago with a first in English Literature. He has had various jobs in banking but is also a reviewer for numerous literary magazines and papers.

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Somnambulist (Gollancz S.F.) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top