Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Something to Live For
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Richard Roper was inspired by an article he read about the council workers who deal with situations when someone dies alone. Their days are spent sifting through the ephemera of those who've slipped through the cracks, searching for clues to a next of kin. Council workers are under no obligation to attend the funerals. Yet they do, sometimes dozens of them a year, just to make sure at least someone is there. Richard Roper lives in London. SOMETHING TO LIVE FOR is his first novel.

Reviews

A charming, humorous and life-affirming tale about human kindness that strikes a chord in a world where loneliness is a growing problem. - BBC News Online, Top Fiction of 2019Richard Roper uplifts the human spirit and shows us how to embrace life and hope, in this witty debut - Phaedra Patrick, international bestselling author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper and Rise & Shine, Benedict StoneFunny, moving and thought-provoking - I loved this. - Clare MackintoshTender, funny, compelling - this wonderful book deserves to be huge!Wryly funny and quirkily charming - perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine - Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird SistersFunny, moving and uplifting... I loved it. - Libby Page, author of THE LIDOA life-affirming novel that simultaneously tweaks your funny-bone and tugs at your heartstrings. Brilliant!Like everyone else, I completely fell under its spell. It pulls you in, makes you laugh and breaks your heart - in short, does everything that you want a novel to do. Every character is round and real - from dear old Andrew, through the wonderful Peggy - oh, Peggy! - to the anonymous woman in the cloud of perfume who lives downstairs. While it is very much in the David Nicholls' tradition of sympathetic quirk and comedy, it is, at the same time, so fresh and different. I loved the voice, the people, the world..... Who couldn't? What an extraordinary debut. - Gill Hornby

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Something to Live For: The most uplifting and life-affirming debut of the year on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top