Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Snappsy the Alligator
By

Rating
Snappsy the alligator is having a normal dayawhen a pesky narrator steps in to spice up the story.aIs Snappsy reading a book . . . or is he making craftyaplans? Is Snappsy on his way to the grocery store . . . or is he prowlingathe forest for defenseless birds and fuzzy bunnies? Is Snappsy innocently shopping for a party . . . or is he obsessedawith snack foods that start with the letter P? What's the truth?a Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book)ais an irreverent look at storytelling, friendship, and creative differences, perfect for fans of Mo Willems. Praise foraSnappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book)- 'This is the first book for both Falatko and Miller, and it's an excellent one-Falatko's writing nimbly zigs and zags around Miller's bold, goofy cartoons.'aPublishers Weekly,aStarred Review! 'More than merely meta, Snappsy is clearly a book, if not a protagonist, with bite.' Kirkus Reviews,aStarred Review! 'If a pesky narrator did thatato Me, I'd bite 'em right on the-*Ahem* Great job with your creative conflict resolution, Snappsy!'aAme Dyckman,aNew York Timesabestselling author ofaWolfie the BunnyaandaBoy + Bot 'Adam Rex didn't ask to be on this book either. But despite being a mean man who generally dislikes debut authors he is a fan of Snappsy the Alligator.'aAdam Rex, author ofaFrankenstein Makes a SandwichaandaMoonday 'Modern storytelling that never compromises, page after hilarious page.'aBob Shea, author ofaDinosaur vs. BedtimeaandaCheetah Can't Lose
Product Details

Promotional Information

Snappsy the alligator is trying to go about his very ordinary day when a pesky narrator steps in to spice up the story with slanderous claims. Is Snappsy making crafty plans?

About the Author

Julie Falatko loves, loves, loves to talk about books. She has a library science degree, is a frequent contributor to the Nerdy Book Club, was the picture book reviewer for the podcast Brain Burps About Books from 2011 to 2015, and she started a Little Free Library in front of her house to share books with neighbors. Julie lives in Maine with her husband, four children, and big-eared chiweenie dog. Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book) is her first book. To learn more about Julie, please visit http: //juliefalatko.com/ or follow her on Twitter @juliefalatko. Tim Miller is serious about being funny. He studied Cartooning at the School of Visual Arts and now works on picture books that are both playful and absurd. Tim lives in Queens with his cat who did not ask to be mentioned in this bio. To see more of his artwork, please visit timmillerillustration.com.

Reviews

PRAISE FOR SNAPPSY THE ALLIGATOR (DID NOT ASK TO BE IN THIS BOOK) "A charming, irreverent tale for independent-minded tots." --People Magazine "This is the first book for both Falatko and Miller, and it's an excellent one--Falatko's writing nimbly zigs and zags around Miller's bold, goofy cartoons." --Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW! "More than merely meta, Snappsy is clearly a book, if not a protagonist, with bite." --Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW! "Falatko's debut picture book is atruly laugh-out-loud, mischievous romp, made gleefully goofier by Miller's straight-laced, deadpan animalcharacters." --Booklist, STARRED REVIEW! "Filled with exploration-worthy detail... overdocumented youngsters may feel some sympathy for Snappsy, and audiences...will giggle at his battle with the overexcited narrator." --BCCB, STARRED REVIEW! "This clever debut will renew faith in the possibilities of fourth-wall breaking." --The New York Times "A silly, clever introduction to the idea of the unreliable narrator." --The Boston Globe "One of the funniest picture books of the year. . . . utterly irresistible." --BookPage "Falatko's debut book demonstrates the power of storytelling through words and pictures." --School Library Journal "Distinguished by Falatko's ability to sustain the tension at length; by Miller's savory palette... and by the unvoiced suggestion that when fiction is working well, a character can take on a life of his or her own." --Horn Book Magazine "This one goes to the top of the meta-heap. Snappsy the Alligator is a wonderful exploration of subjectivity... and a lot of fun." --Shelf Awareness "If a pesky narrator did THAT to ME, I'D bite 'em right on the--*AHEM* Great job with your creative conflict resolution, Snappsy!" --Ame Dyckman, New York Times bestselling author of Wolfie the Bunny and Boy + Bot "Adam Rex didn't ask to be on this book either. But despite being a mean man who generally dislikes debut authors he is a fan of Snappsy the Alligator." --Adam Rex, New York Times bestselling author of Schools First Day of School "Modern storytelling that never compromises, page after hilarious page." --Bob Shea, author of Ballet Cat

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to be in This Book) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top