SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Slightly Married
By

Rating
Product Details

About the Author

* Mary Balogh is a NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author whose Regency-set novels have won her many fans * Her books will appeal to fans of Georgette Heyer and Amanda Quick * Filled with her trade-mark wit, sensuality and breath-taking storytelling. * There is a growing market for historical romances in the UK and in 2006 ITV will be screening a Jane Austen season of new adaptations of her novels * Mary Balogh grew up in Wales and is a former teacher, She now lives in Canada

Reviews

Historical romance maven Balogh (A Summer to Remember, etc.) falls back on the oft-used marriage of convenience formula for her first Bedwyn family installment, but what this whimsical Regency-era romance lacks in originality, it more than makes up for in character and execution. Having promised a dying officer that he'll protect the man's sister "no matter what," Col. Aidan Bedwyn calls on Eve Morris to offer his condolences and aid. Still in mourning over the death of her coal miner father a year earlier, Eve now stands to be turned out onto the street due to a peculiar condition of her father's will. Only by marrying can she save her home, which she shares with several orphans, an impoverished aunt and a staff composed mainly of outcasts. Ever one to honor his promises, Aidan proposes, and Eve accepts. The two plan to separate after saying their vows, but Aidan's eldest brother, the Duke of Bewcastle, insists that Eve be presented to the queen. To Aidan's amazement, Eve proves she has the mettle to stand up to his haughty family. Believable complications and an intriguing clash of personalities ensure the story never grows stale, and Balogh's quirky supporting characters-including Eve's gutsy housekeeper and Aidan's formidable aunt-sprinkle the tale with homespun humor. (Apr. 1) Forecast: As part of Bantam's "Get Connected" program, the next two books in Balogh's series (Slightly Wicked and Slightly Scandalous) will be released consecutively in May and June. Sales will soar simply because Balogh is a well-respected hardcover author who hasn't published a mass market original in several years, but the books' clever timing should also boost the hype surrounding her "homecoming." Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.

Readers will be delighted with Balogh's new series - Booklist

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Slightly Married: Number 3 in series (Bedwyn Series) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top