SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Shipyard Girls
By

Rating
Sunderland, 1940, and the women go to the shipyards to do their bit for the war effort. Polly never dreamed she would be able to work in the shipyards like the men in her family but times are tough and her new job ends up giving her more than she ever expected when she meets enigmatic dock diver Tommy Watts. During the day, head welder Rosie teaches her fledgling flock of trainees their new trade, but at night she hides a secret life. And mother hen Gloria signs up to escape her brutal husband, but finds she cannot run from her problems. The Shipyard Girls start off as strangers - but end up forging an unbreakable bond of friendship in the most difficult times.
Product Details

Promotional Information

The first book in a compelling new saga series set in the shipyards of the North East during the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Ellie Dean.

About the Author

Nancy Revell is a writer and journalist under another name, and has worked for all the national newspapers, providing them with hard-hitting news stories and in-depth features. She has also worked for just about every woman's magazine in the country, writing amazing and inspirational true life stories. Nancy has recently relocated back to her home town of Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, with her husband, Paul, and their English Bull Mastiff, Rosie. They live just a short walk away from the beautiful award-winning beaches of Roker and Seaburn, within a mile of where The Shipyard Girls series is set. The subject is close to Nancy's heart as she comes from a long line of shipbuilders, who were well-known in the area.

Reviews

"THE FIRST SHIPYARD GIRLS NOVEL. Sunderland, 1940, and the women go to the shipyards to do their bit for the war effort. The Shipyard Girls start off as strangers - but end up forging an unbreakable bond of friendship in the most difficult times." * from the publisher's description * "I have just finished The Shipyard Girls and enjoyed it very much indeed . . . It has all the essentials of a good saga: well-drawn, believable, sympathetic characters, storylines which keep the reader turning the page and a very authentic background . . . The special bond that develops between the women makes it a very well rounded novel and will I'm sure have readers eagerly awaiting the next book in the series." -- Lyn Andrews "Set in Sunderland at the start of WW2 tough doesn't begin to describe the hard graft the Shipyard Girls experienced building battle ships for the Navy. Though often weary, heartbroken and terrified they have the dogged determination of conscripted women who will never give up - whatever fate throws at them. Well done on a terrific debut novel, Nancy Revell!" -- Daisy Styles, author of The Bomb Girls "I had read The Shipyard Girls and enjoyed it tremendously, so much so that I bought Nancy's second book. Strong characters and an absorbing story-line. Can't wait to read her third novel." -- Rosie Archer, author of The Gunpowder and Glory Girls "The Shipyard Girls is just wonderful. Heartfelt, pacy and gutsy, I adore it already and will no doubt be devouring the rest of the series with just as much enthusiasm." -- Fiona Ford, author The Spark Girl

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Shipyard Girls: Shipyard Girls 1 (The Shipyard Girls Series) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top