Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Shadow Gate (Crossroads (Tor))
By

Rating
The captivating, bestselling Spirit Gate swept readers into the turbulent world of the Hundred, where the peace and order of life under the protection of the immortal Guardians has given way to chaos and violence. In the face of a vast horde of marauders led by a rogue Guardian, the bravery and resourcefulness of a lone eagle-reeve and others who risk their lives for the common good have prevented death and destruction from overwhelming the Hundred. In Shadow Gate, the enthralling sequel, the source of corruption of the Guardians is still a mystery to the mortals who fight to withstand the forces that have turned against them. And when three new Guardians emerge, a struggle begins among the immortals, with nothing less at stake than the future of the land and its gods. With all the color, excitement, and narrative power that have made Kate Elliott an enormously popular writer, Shadow Gate weaves a powerful spell of action, romance, and magic that will entrance legions of readers.
Product Details

About the Author

Kate Elliott is the author of more than a dozen epic novels. Her novel King's Dragon was a finalist for the Nebula Award and The Golden Key (co-written with Melanie Rawn and Jennifer Roberson) was a World Fantasy Award finalist. Born in Oregon, she lives in Hawaii.

Reviews

In this many-layered second installment in the Crossroads fantasy series (after 2007's Spirit Gate), Marit, an eagle-riding reeve, awakens as a spirit three years after her death and slowly realizes she's become one of the nine Guardians, protectors of justice who wield god-given powers. Soon Marit discovers that some of her fellow Guardians lead forces plaguing the land, while others hide or resist. Meanwhile, among the living, war rewrites the social order, and those of different religions and homelands make common cause. Elliott follows Qin soldier Anji and his troubled, lonely wife, Mai; Marit's former lover, reeve marshal Joss; and Kirya, a tribal warrior who sells herself into slavery to protect her brother. Each must balance cultural imperatives with a broader view of justice, and survival with mercy. The cosmology and politics may confuse newcomers, but the human dilemmas grip the reader right through to the abrupt final cliffhanger. (Apr.) Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

The world of the Hundred have relied on its eagle-borne reeves for protection since the departure of the once all-powerful Guardians. Now, however, a rogue Guardian has arisen to carve a path of bloodshed and cruelty throughout the realm. When Guardian-led marauders murder her eagle and leave her for dead, the young reeve Marit finds a winged horse to ride as she sets out to discover the secret behind the Guardians' corruption and to learn how she has mysteriously survived her own murder. In this follow-up to Spirit Gate, the author of the "Crown of Stars" series demonstrates once again her talent for large-scale storytelling, encompassing both the fate of nations and the destinies of individuals. A strong addition to most fantasy collections. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

"Elliott's strengths as a writer are on display in this second Crossroads book. She brings her characters fully alive with stringent detail and attentive worldbuilding. Fans of Elliott and new readers alike will find this novel satisfying." --Times Book Reviews"A fabulous thriller that grips readers from the onset. . . . exhilarating." --SF Revu"Crossroads is shaping up to be Kate Elliott's best work and is highly recommended to both fans of the author and any readers who appreciate fantasy in the vein of Robin Hobb, Jacqueline Carey, and J.V. Jones..." --Fantasy Book Critic"This promises to be a truly epic fantasy." --Publishers Weekly on Spirit Gate"Spirit Gate has kept me up late at night for too many nights in a row, it made me burn dinner once, and it nearly caused a fender-bender when I was thinking about the characters while driving. It's a big, complex, absorbing book that interfered with my living my daily life while I was reading it, and I blame the author quite bitterly for that." --Laura Resnick, award-winning author of In Fire Forged on Spirit Gate"I love this book. Once again Kate Elliott has written a splendid, grand epic that sweeps the reader into this magical world and doesn't let go even after the very last word on the very last page. I can't wait for the sequel to see what happens next." --Dennis L. McKiernan, author of Once Upon a Spring Morn on Spirit Gate"A treasure for readers who enjoy the journey as much as, or more than, the destination." --Sci Fi Weekly on Spirit Gate Elliott's strengths as a writer are on display in this second Crossroads book. She brings her characters fully alive with stringent detail and attentive worldbuilding. Fans of Elliott and new readers alike will find this novel satisfying. Times Book Reviews A fabulous thriller that grips readers from the onset. . . . exhilarating. SF Revu Crossroads is shaping up to be Kate Elliott's best work and is highly recommended to both fans of the author and any readers who appreciate fantasy in the vein of Robin Hobb, Jacqueline Carey, and J.V. Jones Fantasy Book Critic This promises to be a truly epic fantasy. Publishers Weekly on Spirit Gate Spirit Gate has kept me up late at night for too many nights in a row, it made me burn dinner once, and it nearly caused a fender-bender when I was thinking about the characters while driving. It's a big, complex, absorbing book that interfered with my living my daily life while I was reading it, and I blame the author quite bitterly for that. Laura Resnick, award-winning author of In Fire Forged on Spirit Gate I love this book. Once again Kate Elliott has written a splendid, grand epic that sweeps the reader into this magical world and doesn't let go even after the very last word on the very last page. I can't wait for the sequel to see what happens next. Dennis L. McKiernan, author of Once Upon a Spring Morn on Spirit Gate A treasure for readers who enjoy the journey as much as, or more than, the destination. Sci Fi Weekly on Spirit Gate" Elliott's strengths as a writer are on display in this second Crossroads book. She brings her characters fully alive with stringent detail and attentive worldbuilding. Fans of Elliott and new readers alike will find this novel satisfying. "Times Book Reviews" A fabulous thriller that grips readers from the onset. . . . exhilarating. "SF Revu" Crossroads is shaping up to be Kate Elliott's best work and is highly recommended to both fans of the author and any readers who appreciate fantasy in the vein of Robin Hobb, Jacqueline Carey, and J.V. Jones "Fantasy Book Critic" This promises to be a truly epic fantasy. "Publishers Weekly on Spirit Gate" "Spirit Gate" has kept me up late at night for too many nights in a row, it made me burn dinner once, and it nearly caused a fender-bender when I was thinking about the characters while driving. It's a big, complex, absorbing book that interfered with my living my daily life while I was reading it, and I blame the author quite bitterly for that. "Laura Resnick, award-winning author of In Fire Forged on Spirit Gate" I love this book. Once again Kate Elliott has written a splendid, grand epic that sweeps the reader into this magical world and doesn't let go even after the very last word on the very last page. I can't wait for the sequel to see what happens next. "Dennis L. McKiernan, author of Once Upon a Spring Morn on Spirit Gate" A treasure for readers who enjoy the journey as much as, or more than, the destination. "Sci Fi Weekly on Spirit Gate"" "Elliott's strengths as a writer are on display in this second Crossroads book. She brings her characters fully alive with stringent detail and attentive worldbuilding. Fans of Elliott and new readers alike will find this novel satisfying.--"Times Book Reviews""A fabulous thriller that grips readers from the onset. . . . exhilarating." --"SF Revu""Crossroads is shaping up to be Kate Elliott's best work and is highly recommended to both fans of the author and any readers who appreciate fantasy in the vein of Robin Hobb, Jacqueline Carey, and J.V. Jones..." --"Fantasy Book Critic""This promises to be a truly epic fantasy." --"Publishers Weekly" on "Spirit Gate"""Spirit Gate" has kept me up late at night for too many nights in a row, it made me burn dinner once, and it nearly caused a fender-bender when I was thinking about the characters while driving. It's a big, complex, absorbing book that interfered with my living my daily life while I was reading it, and I blame the author quite bitterly for that." --Laura Resnick, award-winning author of "In Fire Forged" on "Spirit Gate""I love this book. Once again Kate Elliott has written a splendid, grand epic that sweeps the reader into this magical world and doesn't let go even after the very last word on the very last page. I can't wait for the sequel to see what happens next." --Dennis L. McKiernan, author of "Once Upon a Spring Morn" on "Spirit Gate""A treasure for readers who enjoy the journey as much as, or more than, the destination." --"Sci Fi Weekly" on "Spirit Gate" "Elliott's strengths as a writer are on display in this second Crossroads book. She brings her characters fully alive with stringent detail and attentive worldbuilding. Fans of Elliott and new readers alike will find this novel satisfying.-"Times Book Reviews" "A fabulous thriller that grips readers from the onset. . . . exhilarating." -"SF Revu" "Crossroads is shaping up to be Kate Elliott's best work and is highly recommended to both fans of the author and any readers who appreciate fantasy in the vein of Robin Hobb, Jacqueline Carey, and J.V. Jones..." -"Fantasy Book Critic ""This promises to be a truly epic fantasy." -"Publishers Weekly" on "Spirit Gate"""Spirit Gate" has kept me up late at night for too many nights in a row, it made me burn dinner once, and it nearly caused a fender-bender when I was thinking about the characters while driving. It's a big,

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Shadow Gate (Crossroads (Tor)) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top