SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Sex, Economy, Freedom, & Community
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

PREFACE: THE JOY OF SALES RESISTANCE
CHAPTER ONE: CONSERVATION AND LOCAL ECONOMY
CHAPTER TWO: OUT OF YOUR CAR, OFF YOUR HORSE
CHAPTER THREE: CONSERVATION IS GOOD WORK
CHAPTER FOUR: A BAD BIG IDEA
CHAPTER FIVE: THE PROBLEM OF TOBACCO
CHAPTER SIX: PEACEABLENESS TOWARD ENEMIES
CHAPTER SEVEN: CHRISTIANITY AND THE SURVIVAL OF CREATION
CHAPTER EIGHT: SEX, ECONOMY, FREEDOM, AND COMMUNITY
NOTES

Promotional Information

  • Targeted indie bookstore mailing to junior booksellers across the country, exposing them to Wendell Berry
  • Social media promotion to the new farmers that are pushing growing locally and farm-to-table movements
  • Potential author event in Kentucky
  • About the Author

    WENDELL BERRY is an essayist, novelist, and poet. In 2010, he was awarded the National Humanities Medal by President Barack Obama, and in 2016, he was the recipient of the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Book Critics Circle. Berry lives with his wife, Tanya Berry, on their farm in Henry County, Kentucky.

    Reviews

    Praise for Sex, Economy, Freedom, & Community

    "Read [him] with pencil in hand, make notes and hope that somehow our country and the world will soon come to see the truth that is told here." --Charles E. Little, The New York Times Book Review "Berry's words are those of a steward. He is trying to preserve that which is intimate, honest, and good. He is an intense, angry, but always caring critic of American culture. His aim is to instill a sense of mission that would cause his readers to begin to build--or rebuild--their local communities." --Lexington Herald-Leader "Wendell Berry is among our wisest and most clearsighted thinkers; one can hardly speak of him without the word 'prophetic' coming to mind. Writing with grace and sanity from his Kentucky farmstead, his words contain enough common sense to turn absurdity on its head, and because the truth is both simpler and more subtle than any ideology, to challenge the assumptions of every one of our shallow ideological camps." --Caelum Et Terra "Berry once again carves out a unique position in American social debate; not liberal (he hates big government), not libertarian (he would balance individual rights along with those of the commonwealth), but always sharp-tongued and aglow with common sense." --Kirkus Reviews Praise for The World-Ending Fire "Wherever we live, however we do so, we desperately need a prophet of responsibility; and although the days of the prophets seem past to many of us, Berry may be the closest to one we have. But, fortunately, he is also a poet of responsibility. He makes one believe that the good life may not only be harder than what we're used to but sweeter as well." --The New York Review of Books "Compelling, luminous ... our modern-day Thoreau. He is unlike anybody else writing today. He writes at least as well as George Orwell and has an urgent message for modern industrial capitalism ... nobody can risk ignoring him." --Andrew Marr, New Statesman "A fascinating tribute to the life of the land ... Berry's writings are timelier than ever." --Laura Garmeson, Financial Times "Here is a human being speaking with calm and sanity out of the wilderness. We would do well to hear him." --Washington Post Book World "A pleasing selection of essays from the lifelong farmer and award-winning writer . . . A great place to start for those who are not familiar with Berry's work; for those who are, it will be a nostalgic stroll down a rural, wooded Memory Lane. In this day and age, his writings are must-reads." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Berry's graceful essays have long been models of eloquence, insight, and conviction . . . Newcomers will find the works exceptionally timely, and the book as a whole a thoughtful introduction to Berry's writing." --Publishers Weekly "This collection sees the American published on these islands for the first time, and now he has finally stepped ashore, it's worth getting to know him ... Berry overturns plenty of thoughtful topsoil on environmental issues with a precise pen, and clears any thicket of cosy consensus with a clear eye and cutting hand." --Irish Times Praise for The Art of Loading Brush "In Berry's new book, The Art of Loading Brush, he is a frustrated advocate, speaking out against local wastefulness and distant idealism; he is a gentle friend, asserting as he always has, the hope possible in caring for the world, and your specific place in it ... The Art of Loading Brush is singular in Berry's corpus." The Paris Review "Berry's essays, continuing arguments begun in The Unsettling of America 40 years ago, will be familiar to longtime readers, blending his farm work with his interests in literature old and new ... Vintage Berry sure to please and instruct his many admirers." Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "About everything he loves and everything he regrets he has never written better." Booklist (starred review) "Berry has faithfully cultivated his given life within the limits of his marginal place in rural Kentucky, and ... in the essays, stories, and single poem collected in his latest book, he distills his life's varied work into a coherent sense. And like Kentucky bourbon, it is a complex, mature sense, flavored by the fields and forests of his place." Englewood Review of Books Praise for It All Turns on Affection "These powerful, challenging essays show why Berry's vision of a sustainable, human-scaled society has proven so influential." Publishers Weekly Praise for Imagination in Place "Berry's latest collection of essays is the reminiscence of a literary life. It is a book that acknowledges a lifetime of intellectual influences, and in doing so, positions Berry more squarely as a cornerstone of American literature ... a necessary book. Here, Berry's place as the 'grandfather of slow food' or the 'prophet of rural living' is not questioned. This book ensures we understand the depth and breadth of Berry's art." San Francisco Chronicle "[A] stellar collection ... Berry turns over well-tilled, ever-fertile ground in Imagination in Place. His ideas flow beyond the channels of agrarian enthusiasm. Foodies, architects, transportation engineers, and other writers are adopting and adapting his concepts, perhaps leading to what he envisions will one day be 'an authentic settlement of our country.'" The Oregonian "For those who've already come to admire Berry's moral clarity and closely argued critiques of contemporary society, Imagination in Place is a welcome chance to continue the conversation." Christian Science Monitor Praise for Citizenship Papers "Berry says that these recent essays mostly say again what he has said before. His faithful readers may think he hasn't, however, said any of it better before." Booklist (starred review) "His refusal to abandon the local for the global, to sacrifice neighborliness, community integrity, and economic diversity for access to Wal-Mart, has never seemed more appealing, nor his questions of personal accountability more powerful." Kirkus Reviews "The courage of a book, it has been said, is that it looks away from nothing. Here is a brave book." Charlotte Observer Praise for Another Turn of the Crank: Essays "A Kentucky farmer and writer, and perhaps the great moral essayist of our day, Berry has produced one of his shortest but also most powerful volumes." New York Review of Books "The rarest (and highest) of literary classes consist of that small group of authors who are absolutely inimitable ... One of the half-dozen living American authors who belongs in this class is Wendell Berry." Los Angeles Times "Berry is a philosopher, poet, novelist and an essayist in the tradition of Emerson and Thoreau . . . like Thoreau, he marches to a different drummer, a drummer we would do well to be aware of, if not to march to." San Francisco Chronicle "Berry is the prophetic American voice of our day." Christian Science Monitor "The best serious essayist now at work in the United States." Edward Abbey, author of Hayduke Lives

    Ask a Question About this Product More...
    Write your question below:
    How Fishpond Works
    Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
    Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
    You can earn a 5% commission by selling Sex, Economy, Freedom, & Community: Eight Essays on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
    Authors / Publishers
    Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
    Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
    Back to top