The Seven Basic Plots


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Introduction and Historical Note; Part One: The Seven Gateways to the Underworld; Prologue; 1. Overcoming the Monster; 2. The Monster and The Thrilling Escape from Death; 3. Rags to Riches; 4. The Quest; 5. Voyage and Return; 6. Comedy; 7. Comedy (II); 8. Tragedy; 9. Tragedy (II)- The Divided Self; 10. Tragedy (III); 11. Rebirth; 12. The Dark Power - From Shadow Into Light; Epilogue: The Rule of Three; Part Two: The Complete Happy Ending; Prologue; 13. The Dark Figures; 14. Seeing Whole; 15. The Perfect Balance; 16. The Unrealized Value; 17. The Archetypal Family Drama (II); 18. The Light Figures; 19. Reaching the Goal; 20. The Fatal Flaw; Part Three: Missing the Mark; 21. Enter the Dark Inversion; 22. The Ego Takes Over (I); 23. The Ego Takes Over (II); 24. The Ego Takes Over (III); 25. Losing the Plot; 26. Going Nowhere; 27. Why Sex and Violence? 28. Rebellion Against the One; 29. The Mystery; 30. The Riddle of the Sphinx; Part Four: Why We Tell Stories; 31. Telling Us Who We Are; 32. Into the Real World; 33. Of Gods and Men; 34. The Age of Loki; Epilogue

About the Author

Christopher Booker was one of the founders of Private Eye. He writes a weekly column for The Sunday Telegraph. He has published many books including The Neophiliacs, Castle of Lies and The Great Deception. He still writes for Private Eye.


"'I am overwhelmed by the immensity of [this] intellectual, literary, cultural and psychological achievement. [Booker has] encompassed the great European canon, mastered it, penetrated it and laid bare its anatomy and physiology.' Anthony Stevens"

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
People also searched for
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top