SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Selfie
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

This thrilling and ambitious book explores the mysterious power of the self and reveals the danger of our modern obsession with it.

Table of Contents

    • Section - i: A note on the text
  • Chapter - Book Zero: The Dying Self
  • Chapter - Book One: The Tribal Self
  • Chapter - Book Two: The Perfectible Self
  • Chapter - Book Three: The Bad Self
  • Chapter - Book Four: The Good Self
  • Chapter - Book Five: The Special Self
  • Chapter - Book 6: The Digital Self
  • Chapter - Book Seven: How To Stay Alive in the Age of Perfectionism
    • Acknowledgements - ii: Acknowledgements
    • Section - iii: A note on my methods
    • Section - iv: Notes and references
    • Index - v: Index

About the Author

Will Storr is a longform journalist and novelist. His features have appeared in various publications, including the Guardian, The Times, Observer, GQ, Marie Claire and the Sydney Morning Herald. He is a contributing editor at Esquire magazine. He has been named New Journalist of the Year and Feature Writer of the Year, and has won a National Press Club award for excellence. In 2010, his investigation into the kangaroo meat industry won the Australian Food Media award for Best Investigative Journalism and in 2012 he was presented with the One World Press award and the Amnesty International award for his work for the Observer on sexual violence against men. In 2013, his BBC radio series 'An Unspeakable Act' won the AIB award for best investigative documentary.

Reviews

Selfie is far more ambitious than its title might suggest: a serious (although funny) philosophical and psychological inquiry into consciousness. Storr has taken perhaps the most interesting subject (who we are and how we feel about it) and pieced together an overarching narrative from the latest neuroscientific research, smart reporting and careful selections of his personal history. It illuminates much of what feels peculiar about the world in 2017 . . . [Storr] has put in a formidable amount of work, he is irascibly good company, and he has something approaching genius for marshalling his material . . . This could be a pessimistic book. In fact, its insights are timely and welcome -- Richard Godwin * Sunday Times *
Storr has done huge amounts of research for this book . . . he conveys it with a gifted lightness of touch that is wry and funny (his investigative mode has been compared to those of Jon Ronson and Louis Theroux, with which I wouldn't disagree) . . . entertaining . . . fascinating * Times *
As entertaining as it is provocative and disquieting . . . His breezy prose is bedded down in intensive research, much of it immersive . . . his closing thoughts can't help but be comforting * Mail on Sunday *
An ambitious argument . . . Storr is an electrifying analyst of internet culture, documenting the rise of connectivity in prose that crackles with the energy of the early 21st century . . . an excellent antidote to time-wasting on social media * Financial Times *
Thoughtful and engaging . . . wonderfully funny . . . Storr's cultural history is fascinating * Guardian *
This book is IMMENSE; like reading an Adam Curtis documentary -- Stuart Heritage
Storr is a magnificent reporter in the mould of Jon Ronson or Louis Theroux . . . Selfie is profound, uncomfortable, joyful, frustrating, fascinating, fragmented, inspired, heartbreaking, and occasionally riven with internal contradictions. Just like a person, really -- Helen Lewis * New Statesman *
Brilliant . . . There aren't many authors who can range so confidently across disciplines and, if you go with the flow, you'll encounter some fascinating nuggets along the way . . . inspiring -- Rohan Silva * Evening Standard *
`Will Storr's new book tries to understand how we all became so self-obsessed. It's compelling, terrifying and a total must-read . . . a hugely ambitious book that might sound overwhelming, but is told with a humanity and vulnerability that is, thankfully, deeply at odds with many of its characters . . . Selfie is a fascinating investigation into the intersection of history, psychology, culture and the economy, and how our brains, our egos - and our constructed sense of self - are products of these interconnecting spaces . . . It's not just the insights that makes Selfie such an essential read; Storr is a master weaver - not only can he draw a line via Ancient Greece and Silicon Valley, but he does so between Ronald Reagan's rampant deregulation, the toxic nature of the American governmental pursuit of individualism and young women's Instagram accounts . . . Reading Selfie is like seeing links light up on a switchboard. Everything is connected; everything makes sense. Yet the most incredible thing about Storr's book is how it stays with you long after you've read it . . . In both an equally troubling and comforting way, Selfie's insights can't been unseen' -- Marisa Bate * The Pool *
A fascinating, timely exploration of our drive for status, perfection and self-esteem, and a consideration of where such obsessions lead * Esquire *
So interesting I literally couldn't put it down. -- India Knight * Sunday Times *
It's easy to look at Instagram and "selfie-sticks" and shake our heads at millennial narcissism. But Will Storr takes a longer view. He ignores the easy targets and instead tells the amazing 2,500-year story of how we've come to think about our selves. A top-notch journalist, historian, essayist, and sleuth, Storr has written an essential book for understanding, and coping with, the 21st century -- Nathan Hill, author of The Nix
A hellishly good book about the new hell: ourselves * Daily Express *
Smart, serious and ultimately reassuring * Psychologies *
Will Storr crafts an entertaining history of the self, from Narcissus to Kardashian to Trump * Observer *
A hugely important subject, and a compelling one . . . always entertainingly delivered thanks to Storr's rich reporting. More than that, by taking a hammer to the sacred idea of the self - by putting culture back in the picture - Storr provides a much-needed corrective to our understanding of who we are. For that reason alone, Selfie should be welcomed. * Literary Review *
A timely, inspiring book about self-obsession in modern life * Harper's Bazaar *
A broad-ranging history of the western self, from the age of Aristotle to the age of Instagram . . . Storr builds a convincing case that free will is an illusion, change is impossible and our entire political system is built on a lie. But he's funny with it -- Richard Godwin * Evening Standard *
A journey that is both personal and political . . . at once hilarious and horrifying . . . it's dynamite . . . This book should by rights bring down the entire house of cards that is the self-esteem industry * Saturday Paper (Australia) *
Selfie is an entertaining, concise and highly personal examination of the history of the Self. When did we all become narcissists? And how has it turned us into a society of dissatisfied perfectionists? Combining history, journalistic research and acute personal memoir, Storr brilliantly and candidly explores what may be the most pressing question of our - or any - time. I loved it -- Tim Lott
Moving, wise, compelling and timely, this brilliant and absorbing book investigates the faultline between our oldest human needs and the terrible pressures of technology -- Marcel Theroux
One of my absolute favourite writers -- Decca Aitkenhead
Eminently suitable for readers of both Yuval Noah Harari and Daniel Kahneman, Selfie also has shades of Jon Ronson in its subversive humour and investigative spirit . . . Selfie, without being remotely fluffy, just might be the ultimate in post-truth comfort reading -- Caroline Sanderson * Bookseller *
In this riveting account of how our culture has defined who we feel we should be, from Aristotle to Ayn Rand, Storr charts the rise of our age of perfectionism, and our resulting addictions to selfies and social media. It's profoundly eye-opening, and not a little chastening. Arresting mirrored jacket too . . . * Bookseller *
You'll find yourself repeating entire sections of Selfie to your friends, and passing them off as your own. -- Amy Grier * Cosmopolitan *
I've come to consider Will Storr the best writer out there in terms of writing about human experience and the concepts and complexities of psychology. I've never seen such a well-thought-through and well-argued piece of work as Selfie, really taking ideas around self-esteem back to their philosophical and historical origins - and pulling them all to pieces. I loved it. -- Professor Sophie Scott, Deputy Director, Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience, University College London
A very well written book. I enjoyed it greatly! -- Professor Danny Dorling, author of A Better Politics: How Government Can Make Us Happier
Storr starts in Ancient Greece and masterfully pulls us through time, arriving at today's Silicon Valley. And on this journey he asks so many fascinating questions . . . An important, fascinating and mind-expanding read that examines the cultural, societal, psychological and political forces that have led to the Selfie generation. I can't recommend it enough. * The Pool *
There are some real insights about how stories, social rules, cultural norms and role models affect our attitude to ourselves . . . because he puts it into a long, historical perspective, even nitwits with selfie sticks become a bit more interesting to think about . . . a good read -- Libby Purves * Daily Mail *
The other celebrity podcast I've been enjoying is Russell Brand's Under the Skin . . . He wants Answers with a capital A: the meaning of life, the short cut to spiritual awakening, the revolution that will overthrow the president, the place of economic and political systems within history, how terrorism works and if it can be stopped, ditto religion . . . Not much small talk here. High-profile guests such as Adam Curtis, Naomi Klein, Yanis Varoufakis and Yuval Noah Harari join Brand in trying to unpick humanity's most tangled knots . . . The latest episode has Will Storr discussing why the selfie is an indication of the narcissistic western approach to individuality, and it's fascinating. -- Miranda Sawyer * Observer *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Selfie: How the West Became Self-Obsessed on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top