Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Secrets of Wishtide
By

Rating
New or Used: 2 copies from $42.99
Product Details

Promotional Information

From the bestselling, award-winning novelist Kate Saunders comes the first in `The Laetitia Rodd Mysteries', six novels featuring a Victorian lady detective, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, M. C. Beaton and Grantchester

About the Author

Kate Saunders is an author and journalist. She has worked for The Times, Sunday Times, Sunday Express, Daily Telegraph and Cosmopolitan amongst others, and has contributed to Radio 4's Woman's Hour and Start the Week. She has written numerous books for adults and children, including the bestselling Night Shall Overtake Us, and her follow on to E Nesbit's Five Children and It stories, Five Children on the Western Front, which won the Costa Children's Book Award in 2014. She lives in London.

Reviews

A Dickensian glow pervades this immensely satisfying novel. Hugely enjoyable * James Runcie, author of The Grantchester Mysteries * Saunders's prose is precise and a pleasure to read. The plot twists and turns, and Laetitia is a warm and engaging heroine * The Times * Murder, mayhem and rather gothic melodrama are all treated with wry composure by the redoubtable Mrs Rodd ... The whole book has the cosiness and wit of a Sunday evening costume drama. Think Lark Rise To Candleford. I was left greedy for the return of Mrs Rodd in the next of the promised series * Daily Mail * Pure delight * Sunday Times * Wishtide combines the twists and coincidences of a sensation novel with social commentary, then brightens it with light touches ... I think that what the old bird has done is to start her journey to becoming a new literary favourite * Independent * Kate Saunders immerses us in Victorian England in this delightful new series. You'll love Laetitia Rodd and her charming cohorts as they unravel an intriguing tangle of mysteries to save the innocent and punish the guilty. I couldn't put it down! * Victoria Thompson, bestselling author of Murder in Morningside Heights * A breath of fresh air ... It's packed with pithy observations about human nature and Mrs Rodd makes a genuinely likable character you can't help but root for ... 8/10 * Sunday Post * Witty, thrilling and heartwarming ... Ms. Saunders's dozens of characters from all social classes are sketched with sharp strokes, her melodramatic plot turns are truly shocking, and her heroine is smart, capable and brimming with human sympathy. Sequels, please * Wall Street Journal * Saunders evokes the period with witty references and shrewd insights * Saga * A delightful Victorian mystery * Stylist * Simply begging to be made into a Sunday night bonnet drama * Red * Introducing Mrs Laetitia Rodd, widow and Victorian private detective whose investigation into the suitability of a would-be bride is derailed by a murder * Woman & Home * The first book in the series will delight * Woman's Way * Energetically written, it's the first of a series featuring the adventures and wit of this endearing Victorian detective - the next one can't come soon enough * Choice * Feisty widow and super sleuth Laetitia Rodd plunge the murky depths of Victorian society's demi-monde * My Weekly * Mr. Dickens would approve * New York Journal of Books * It does remind me of Miss Marple from various Christie novels ... Clever, witty, and altogether likable ... I look forward to more ***** * San Francisco Book Review *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Secrets of Wishtide (A Laetitia Rodd Mystery) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top