Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Secret Game
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Blind Side, a riveting account of how sports can transcend social taboos.

About the Author

Scott Ellsworth is an award-winning historian at the University of Michigan, whose research has been featured on the Today Show, ABC News Nightline, Good Morning America, National Public Radio, the History Channel, and PBS's the American Experience. He has written about America history for The New York Times, Washington Post, and Los Angeles Times. An expert in twentieth century American life, he spent a decade as a historian at the National Museum of American History at the Smithsonian. Ellsworth is the author of Death in the Promised Land, an account of the 1921 Tulsa race riots. He lives in Ann Arbor with his wife and twin sons.

Reviews

One of The Chicago Tribune's Best Books of the Year
One of Sports Illustrated's Best Sports Books of the Year
Winner of the 2016 PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing
"A powerful book that is a page-turner from start to finish.... Ellsworth has written an important book that should appeal to people of all colors." "Bob D'Angelo, "Tampa Tribune"""
"Riveting." Kevin Nance, Chicago Tribune"
"Amazing." Robert Gray, Shelf Awareness"
"Engrossing..." Chris Skaugset, The Daily News"
"There is a basketball on the cover, but this is much more than a story about basketball. Yes, there was a ground-breaking basketball game played in Durham, N.C., seven decades ago, and it is recounted in great detail by Scott Ellsworth. But what we really have here is indispensable social history. White people need to read this book. People of color need to read this book. Whoever you are, you need to read this book."--Bob Ryan, Boston Globe, ESPN, author of Scribe: My Life in Sports
"A powerful book that is a page-turner from start to finish.... Ellsworth has written an important book that should appeal to people of all colors."--Bob D'Angelo, Tampa Tribune
"It would be difficult, if not impossible, for me to overstate my admiration for Scott Ellsworth's magnificent The Secret Game. It's a book about race, a book about the South, a book about America, a book about the '40s, a book about change as well as how things remain the same. This is one of the smartest and most eloquent books I've come across in a long time. A masterpiece."--Steve Yarbrough, author of The Realm of Last Chances
"Ellsworth has unearthed a brave moment in basketball, forgotten to history, which resonates far beyond the court."--Billy Heller, New York Post
"Riveting."--Kevin Nance, Chicago Tribune
"Beautifully paced, its eloquence cloaked within a common touch."--Jeff Calder, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
"A compelling story about basketball, race and transformation...."--D.G. Martin, Winston-Salem Journal
"Ellsworth tells their story in the vein of Seabiscuit and The Boys in the Boat.... He reminds us who heroes are and what they can be."--Daniel Solzman, The Kentucky Democrat
"As a member of the Duke community, I have long been aware and proud of the secret game. Now Scott Ellsworth has brought it to light. The true story behind this extraordinary, long-buried game goes beyond any one school or any one state. The Secret Game is a triumphant look at how basketball has broken down barriers, and helped create a new kind of America. Every citizen needs to know this story--and to know it now."--Mike Krzyzewski, head coach of Duke Men's Basketball
"A fascinating new work of cultural and sports history.... Through a mixture of oral history and archival research, Ellsworth captures the rich human details of a whole generation of largely forgotten basketball players."--Nick Romeo, Boston Globe
"A historian with the soul of a poet, Ellsworth offers a remarkably nuanced, vibrant, and eloquent account of life in the South during WWII, and his portraits of the principal players in this secret drama are multitextured and complex."--Wes Lukowsky, Booklist (starred review)
"Scott Ellsworth has unearthed the facts of this little-known but hugely important moment. His research is as overwhelming as his story-telling style is accessible and engaging. If you love basketball, truly love the game and all that it means in terms of this country and its civil rights history, you'll want to read and reread The Secret Game."--Roland Lazenby, author of Michael Jordan: The Life
"Ellsworth skillfully puts this story in the context of World War II, which forced this country to face -- albeit slowly -- its unjust treatment of those who also spilled blood to protect American democracy. He lets us know what happened to each of the players after the secret game -- their lives and their triumph no longer lost or forgotten."--Cliff Bellamy, The Herald Sun
"Amazing."--Robert Gray, Shelf Awareness
"[The Secret Game] should be read by anyone with an interest in basketball history, or American sports history. Or maybe even American history for that matter."--Bill Reynolds, Providence Journal
"Ellsworth chronicles a groundbreaking matchup....He weaves 50 years of story lines...[and] the takeaway is the unimaginable bravery of both teams."--Lisa Sorg, Indy Week
"Mesmerizing.... An elegant, deeply talented writer."--Jennifer Conlin, frequent contributor to the New York Times
"Engrossing..."--Chris Skaugset, The Daily News
"A riveting, little-known story reminding readers of a rising generation of risk-takers who fought against Jim Crow laws and ushered in the Civil Rights Movement."--Genesis Jackson, Duke Today

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Secret Game: A Wartime Story of Courage, Change, and Basketball's Lost Triumph on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top