Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Seconds Away (Book Two)
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Harlan Coben (www.harlancoben.com) is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of numerous adult novels, as well as the two young adult novels, SHELTER and SECONDS AWAY. He has won the Edgar Award, Shamus Award, and Anthony Award--the first author to receive all three. His books are published in forty-one languages--with over 50 million copies in print worldwide--and have been #1 bestsellers in over a dozen countries. He lives in New Jersey.

Reviews

Action packed would be an understated description for Coben's novel-the second spinoff of his bestselling Myron Bolitar series featuring 14-year-old Mickey Bolitar. Picking up where the last book left off, Mickey is stunned by the news, supplied by the town's mysterious and scary old crone, that his father, whom he saw die in a car crash, is still alive. Before Mickey can begin to digest this information, his girlfriend is shot in the head, he's interrogated by the police, threatened, trapped in a burning building, and terrorized by two hit men-all while making time to try out for his high school's basketball team. Narrator Nick Podehl turns in an inspired performance, lending a youthful voice to Mickey that captures all his teen angst, confusion, and impatience. Podehl also effectively renders the book's cast of characters, from the snarling, bullying police chief to the screechy little nerd named Spoon. Ages 12-up. A Putnam hardcover. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

FROM KIRKUS REVIEWS

"Coben deftly weaves these multiple plot threads into a compelling whole . . . An involving thriller that moves like lightning."
FROM BOOKLIST "Mickey's fast-paced, first person narration won't disappoint his growing fan base. The satisfying conclusion leaves enough open-ended questions to continue this gripping series."
FROM VOYA "The character development is solid . . . and readers will enjoy Mickey's internal dialogue as well as his relationships with Ema and Spoon . . . Recommend this for readers who enjoy Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series or Charlie Higson's Young James Bond novels."

Gr 7 Up-Only two days have passed since Mickey, Ema, and Spoon rescued Ashley in Shelter (2011). In the second title (2012, both Putnam) in Coben's series, something's fishy in Newark and the "chosen" trio is on a seemingly red-herring chase to solve the murder of Rachel's mother and its possible connection to the mysterious Abeona Shelter. Yet, "no matter where it leads, they must always seek the truth," even if the answers lead to more questions. In their twisting, turning quest, Mickey discovers Uncle Myron is protecting a world-famous movie star that happens to be Ema's mom and family friend of his parents; two thugs shoot Spoon over a gym bag full of drugs and cash; and Mickey learns we each have our own Butcher of Lodz that erases childhood innocence. In addition, Rachel's dad is working undercover with Chief Taylor to bust a drug ring, but they are covering up their own secrets, including murder evidence and their attempt to protect Rachel. Mickey knows the dirty details, and with only seconds to decide, he must choose whether to tell Rachel a life-altering white lie or the grim, dark truth. Nick Podehl provides his trademark stellar narration for all the characters, and is especially adept at voicing Mickey. This riveting cliffhanger will have listeners eagerly awaiting the next volume.-Cheryl Preisendorfer, Twinsburg City Schools, OH (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Seconds Away (Book Two): A Mickey Bolitar Novel (Mickey Bolitar Novels) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top