COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Seafarers
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

* This award-winning book available in distinctive paperback for the first time ; * Stephen Rutt is widely acknowledged as one of the brightest young stars writing about the natural world, gathering increasing support and recognition ; * Perfect for fans of John Lewis-Stempel's The Secret Life of the Owl; Adam Nicolson's The Seabird's Cry and Madeleine Bunting's Love of Country ; * Praise for Stephen Rutt - The Seafarers and Wintering ; 'A poignant testament to how we can find peace in the rhythms of the natural world.' - The Times, Books of the Year 2019 ; 'Illuminating history and descriptive nature writing...an understated gem.' - Waterstones.com, Gifts for Nature Lovers ; 'Rutt's dreamy prose is as cool and elegant as the season he charts.' - BBC Wildlife

About the Author

Stephen Rutt is a birder, naturalist, freelance feature writer and book reviewer whose work has appeared in EarthLines Magazine, Zoomorphic, The Harrier, Surfbirds, BirdGuides and the East Anglian Daily Times. In 2016 he escaped his hectic, anxiety-inducing life in London to spend seven months at the bird observatory on North Ronaldsay, the most northerly island in the Orkney archipelago, where this book was born. He currently lives in Dumfries.

Reviews

"The writing lures you in, making you feel that you too might benefit from venturing out in inclement weather, just on the off-chance of seeing something remarkable on the wing to lift your spirits" - The National ; "A beautifully illuminating portrait of lives lived largely on the wing and at sea . . . In this intimate guide to the wild beauty and complexity of seabirds, Stephen Rutt has written a powerful chronicle of resilience and fragility' -- Julian Hoffman, author of Irreplaceable and The Small Heart of Things ; "An evocative book ... I could taste the salt on my lips and smell the perfume of storm petrels. The Seafarers is a pelagic poem about the birds that exist at the coastal edges of our islands and consciousness. The stories of these hardy birds entwine seamlessly with Stephen Rutt's personal journey to form a narrative as natural and flowing as the passage of shearwater along the face of Atlantic rollers" -- Jon Dunn, author of Orchid Summer ; "An arrestingly vivid turn of phrase... An accomplished debut from an exciting new voice in Nature writing." -- The Countryman Magazine ; "5*... One of those great joys of a book ... I look forward to reading the next book from this author, although I acknowledge that he has set his own bar very high" - Tonto Williams Electronic Scrapbook ; "Writes as beautifully about Shetland as he does about seabirds" - Sally Huband, raingeeseandselkies.blogspot.com"

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Science » Nature » General
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Seafarers: A Journey Among Birds on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top