Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Salt to the Sea
By

Rating
New York Times Bestseller! "Masterfully crafted"--The Wall Street Journal For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies.World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.Praise for Salt to the Sea Featured on NPR's Morning Edition â ¦ "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."--The Wall Street Journal â ¦ "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."--Entertainment Weekly â ¦ "Riveting...powerful...haunting."--The Washington Post â ¦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."--New York Times Book Review â ¦ "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."--Shelf Awareness â ¦ "Historical fiction at its very, very best."--The Globe and Mail â ¦ "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."--Salt Lake Tribune â ¦ *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."--Booklist â ¦ *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."--School Library Journal â ¦ A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the Year Praise for Between Shades of Gray A New York Times Notable Book â ¦ A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book â ¦ A PW, SLJ, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book â ¦ iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel â ¦ A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist â ¦ A New York Times and International Bestseller â ¦ "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."--The Washington Post â ¦ *"[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."--Booklist
Product Details

About the Author

Ruta Sepetys (www.rutasepetys.com) was born and raised in Michigan in a family of artists, readers, and music lovers. She is the award-winning, bestselling author of Between Shades of Gray and Out of the Easy. Ruta lives with her family in Nashville, Tennessee. Follow her on Twitter at @RutaSepetys.

Reviews

Praise for Salt to the Sea A #1 New York Times Bestseller An International Bestseller Winner of the Carnegie Medal Featured on NPR's Morning Edition "Ruta Sepetys acts as champion of the interstitial people so often ignored -- whole populations lost in the cracks of history."--The New York Times "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."--The Wall Street Journal [Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."--Entertainment Weekly "[A] riveting novel . . . Sepetys skillfully weaves history into her story, here grounding her nuanced characters in the events of winter 1945. Vivid details punctuate the spare prose."--The Washington Post "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."--Salt Lake Tribune "Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In Salt to the Sea the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling, as her warm and human characters breathe new life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies." --Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Printz Award Honor Book Code Name Verity "A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying--and little-known--moment in World War II history." --Steve Sheinkin, author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist Bomb "Brutal. Beautiful. Honest." --Sabaa Tahir, New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes "Ruta Sepetys is more than just an author -- she's history's answer to CSI."--Mashable "[A] stunning historical novel."--Hypable * "Sepetys excels in shining light on lost chapters of history, and this visceral novel proves a memorable testament to strength and resilience in the face of war and cruelty." --Publishers Weekly, starred review * "This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered, and in turn, it tries to remember the thousands of real people its fictional characters represent. What it asks of us is that their memories, and their stories, not be abandoned to the sea." --Booklist, starred review * "Artfully told and sensitively crafted, Sepetys's exploration of this little-known piece of history will leave readers weeping." --SLJ, starred review "The inevitability of the ending (including the loss of several characters) doesn't change its poignancy, and the short chapters and slowly revealed back stories for each character guarantee the pages keep turning. Heartbreaking, historical, and a little bit hopeful." --Kirkus Reviews "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."--Shelf Awareness "This book includes all the reasons why teens read: for knowledge, for romance, for amazing and irritating characters. This novel will break readers' hearts and then put them back together a little more whole." --VOYA "Sepetys's...scene-setting is impeccable; the penetrating cold of the journey is palpable, and she excels at conveying the scope of the losses while giving them a human face....[T]his elegiac tale succeeds with impressive research, affecting characters, and keen, often unsettling insights into humans' counterposed tendencies toward evil and nobility. Readers will be left to discuss which impulse triumphs here." --The Horn Book

Look for similar items by category
Home » Books
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Salt to the Sea on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top