Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Rubik
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Elizabeth Tan is a writer from Perth. In 2015, she completed her PhD in creative writing at Curtin University. Her thesis investigated the intrusion of science-fictional tropes and iconography onto our current social reality, and the cultural anxieties that this has produced. This practice-led research culminated in her first novel Rubik, published in 2017. Elizabeth's fiction has appeared in Voiceworks, Westerly, The Lifted Brow, Sleepers Almanac, Overland, Seizure, Best Australian Stories and Tincture. She is also the creator of Mais Pourquoi, a webcomic, et-maispourquoi.blogspot.com.

Reviews

'Bold, brilliant, hilarious, and beautifully strange. Make time to read Rubik, for it will challenge all your received ideas about what fiction can or should do: here is the future of Australian writing.' Ceridwen Dovey
Inventive ... delicious. Tan's careful layering and nuanced craft will gain a strong following among fans of experimental narratives. * Publishers Weekly *
The term "experimental fiction" can be used to cover a multitude of sins: an almost petulant obsession with abstraction and a disdainful disregard for the experience of the reader, among them. When it works, though, we have novels in the tradition of Kafka, Woolf and Foster Wallace. The very best experimental writers have an inspired and weird way of seeing the world that makes much realist fiction seem moribund. Elizabeth Tan's debut novel-in-stories, Rubik, is in the latter category: it's wonderful, brilliant and mind-bending, and a worthy heir to the experimental tradition. Rubik is the kind of book that demands a second read, or a third. And maybe paper and a pen for notes. Or several pens, of different colours. Regardless, it's worth the effort. * The Saturday Paper *
Recalling the wit and social commentary of Julie Koh's Portable Curiosities alongside the surreal connected-universe storytelling of Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad, Rubik is a shot in the arm of Australian fiction, one that will undoubtedly reveal more secrets on successive rereads. * Books + Publishing *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top