Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Retribution Falls
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Fantastic commercial concept, highly readable and loads of fun Light, smart, entertaining reading Significant appeal for his growing (and aging!) teen readership Perfect for fans of Firefly Chris is a steadily growing author on the Gollancz list, and has considerable potential The Braided Path trilogy was critically acclaimed, and sold in 5 countries

About the Author

Chris Wooding is in his early thirties and has already signed his first Hollywood film deal and won several awards for his writing. He is the author of, amongst others, the Broken Sky series, which has sold over 200,000 copies in the US alone, and The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray, which won the Silver Smarties award. He has travelled extensively, plays bass and guitar and has recorded several albums with various bands and toured in Europe. His books have been published all over the world and translated into 19 languages. He is currently working on two movies with a top Hollywood director.

Reviews

Darian Frey, captain of the airship Ketty Jay and commander of a dysfunctional crew that specializes in running contraband, smuggling, and other illicit activities, accepts a job that goes awry and results in the pursuit of his ship and crew by the Coalition Navy. Dodging enemies on both sides of the law, the Ketty Jay sets out in search of the legendary haven of Retribution Falls, where the crew hopes to recuperate and, ultimately, prove their innocence, at least regarding their current predicament. YA author Wooding ("Broken Sky" series; The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray) presents his first adult fantasy, a sky pirate adventure that features quirky characters-including a mechanical golem and a bad-tempered cat-witty dialog, and enough fast-paced action to please fans of swashbuckler fantasy. VERDICT Intended as light fantasy with an emphasis on air tactics and swordplay, this should appeal to fans of action-based fantasy. (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

This slow-moving but inventive series starter from steampunk author Wooding (The Fade) introduces Darian Frey, captain of the Ketty Jay, and a varied gang of smalltime freebooters. When a routine heist goes horribly wrong, Frey is charged with murder and piracy and must flee from the authorities (and an old flame out for revenge). To make matters worse, Frey's crew owes him no loyalty; he's the captain only because he owns their aerium-fueled aircraft. It's up to Frey to keep them together long enough to figure out who set them up-and why. As their secrets gradually emerge, the characters grow in depth and complexity, especially Crake, the angst-ridden daemonist, and Jez, the taciturn navigator. Beautifully crafted prose and some remarkably imaginative scenes prop up the sluggish plot, and Wooding's sprawling, multifaceted world and rough-and-tumble action will delight steampunk fans. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Captain Darian Frey loves the Ketty Jay, his airship, and he'll do whatever it takes to keep flying. After he and his crew of misfits take on a job that goes horribly awry, they find themselves aligned against a conspiracy and trying to save the day in this action-filled, steampunk adventure. (Apr.) (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Retribution Falls: Tales of the Ketty Jay on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top