Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Real Artists Have Day Jobs

For readers of Lena Dunham, Mindy Kaling, and #Girlboss, a hilarious-yet heartfelt-guide to growing up and taking your place in the world by the popular comedian and author of the highly praised Agorafabulous! While the practical aspects of new adulthood can be nerve-wracking-dating, job-hunting, money-managing-the most important task of all is figuring out who you are and where you fit in the world. Author and comedian Sara Benincasa, now in her mid-thirties, had an absolutely harrowing early twenties and now, on the other side, she has a LOT of hard-earned wisdom and common sense to share. Real Artists Have Day Jobs includes 52 witty, provocative essays on how to live like a real adult-especially for those who have chosen a slightly more offbeat path to get there. Chock full of information and advice, Sara's warm, smart, empathetic, and quirky voice is relatable to everyone from twenty-somethings and recent college grads to anyone a bit older who's still trying to figure things out. While Sara doesn't have all of life's answers, this indispensable book has more than its share! Essays include: * How to Read a Book * Real Artists Have Day Jobs * The Power of Being a Dork * Put Your Clutter in Purgatory * Ask for Exactly What You Want * Elect Your Own Executive Board Equal parts entertaining and educational, Real Artists Have Day Jobs is a life-changing book for strivers and misunderstood creatives everywhere.
Product Details

About the Author

Sara Benincasa is a comedian and author of Real Artists Have Day Jobs (William Morrow 2016) as well as the books DC Trip (Adaptive Books 2015), Great (2014), and Agorafabulous!: Dispatches From My Bedroom (William Morrow 2012), a book based on her critically acclaimed solo show about panic attacks and agoraphobia. She is currently adapting DC Trip as a film with producers Albert Berger and Ron Yerxa (Little Miss Sunshine, Nebraska, Election), Van Toffler, and Adaptive Studios. She is currently adapting Agorafabulous! as a TV pilot with executive producers Diablo Cody (Juno, The United States of Tara), and Ben Stiller's Red Hour. She was born and raised in New Jersey and graduated from Warren Wilson College and Columbia University Teachers College. She lives in Los Angeles, California.


"Honest, funny and completely devoid of bullshit. You might not want to hear what's in this book, but you probably need to." -- Patton Oswalt "Sara's book is an incredible tour de force. If I could repeatedly hit my head so I could give myself a touch of memory loss so that I would be able to read this again for the first time, I would." -- Megan Amram "Sara captures the chaos, horror, and joy of a life pursuit of creativity." -- Jim Gaffigan "Sara Benincasa is a great wit, a great woman, and a great writer." -- Elizabeth Gilbert "Inspiring self-help guidance on just about everything: sex, love, self-esteem, even flossing...It's hard to imagine an actual self-help book could be more inspirational...Benincasa's wisdom and humor will reverberate for days to come." -- Library Journal "Hilarious...refreshingly frank...Benincasa provides solid tips for relationships, health, wellness, and employment...Raunchy and unabashedly unapologetic, this is useful, take-no-prisoners humor." -- Kirkus Reviews "Sara Benincasa is brilliant on Twitter, in her comedy and on the printed page, and her latest, Real Artists Have Day Jobs, won't fail to make you laugh. It might make you tear up a little bit too... she's smart, heartfelt, relatable and just plain funny." -- New York Daily News "It's educational, inspiring and entertaining in equal measure...That mix of empathy and realism is what makes `Real Artists...' worth reading." -- The Malcontent

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Real Artists Have Day Jobs: (And Other Awesome Things They Don't Teach You in School) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top