Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Queen's Sorrow
By

Rating
Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A queen brought low by love compromised and power abused -- the tragedy of Mary Tudor. Plain, dutiful and a passionate Catholic, Mary Tudor was overjoyed by joy when she became England's queen. After the misery of her childhood, when her father had rejected her mother, and effectively disowned his daughter, Mary felt at last that she was achieving her destiny. And when she marries Philip of Spain, her happiness is complete. But Mary's delight quickly turns sour as she realises that her husband does not love her. In fact he finds her devotion irritating. Desperate for a baby, she begins to believe that God is punishing her. Her people are horrified at the severity of the measures she takes and begin to turn against their queen who is lonely, frightened -- and desperate for love. Rafael, a member of Philip of Spain's entourage, is a reluctant witness to the unfolding tragedy and as the once-feted queen tightens her cruel hold on the nation, Rafael becomes closer to Mary and his life -- and new-found love -- are caught up in the terrible chaos that follows. Key title / The engrossing, dramatic and tragic tale of Mary Tudor from the bestselling author of 'The Sixth Wife'. / Historical fiction is still riding high and Suzannah Dunn has many fans in the trade and beyond. / 'The Sixth Wife' has sold over 77,000 copies in mass-market paperback and over 19,000 trade paperbacks. / 'The Queen's Sorrow' will appeal to fans of Philippa Gregory and Tracy Chevalier and is ideal reading group material. / Competition: Philippa Gregory, Rose Tremain, Jane Stevenson

About the Author

Suzannah Dunn is the author of nine previous books of fiction: 'Darker Days Than Usual', 'Blood Sugar', 'Past Caring', 'Quite Contrary', 'Venus Flaring', 'Tenterhooks', 'Commencing Our Descent', 'The Queen of Subtleties' and her most recent success 'The Sixth Wife'. She lives in Shropshire.

Reviews

Praise for 'The Sixth Wife': 'My, what a story!delightfully vulgar and utterly compelling.' The Times 'Suzannah Dunn!weaves!a love story that is both moving and believable!of second chances at love, and passion reawakened.' Telegraph 'Mesmerising and beautifully written.' Scotsman 'Suzannah Dunn!weaves a kind of love story that is both moving and believable. This is the Tudor world as seldom seen!The result is historical chick lit at its most charming.' Telegraph 'Dunn [sheds] possible new light on Katharine's marriage to Thomas Seymour and her final days are treated with sympathy and skill.' The Tablet Praise for 'The Queen of Subtleties': 'Suzannah Dunn is, as ever, a mistress at describing the material world through which her characters move.' Guardian 'A boisterous historical recreation.' Independent '"The Queen of Subtleties" offers a stunningly refreshing way of retelling an old story. I often abandon historical novels nowadays, but I really could not put this one down. It brings Anne Boleyn to life as never before, and, probably for the first time ever in fiction, Henry VIII emerges as a truly credible character in an authentic setting.' Alison Weir, author of 'The Six Wives of Henry VIII'

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Queen's Sorrow on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top