COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Promise of Light


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Paul Watkins is also the author of the novels The Forger, The Story of My Disappearance, In the Blue Light of African Dreams, Archangel, Calm at Sunset, Calm at Dawn, and Night Over Day Over Night (all in print with Picador USA), and the memoir Stand Before Your God. He lives with his family in Princeton, New Jersey.


"Superbly crafted...Myth and archetype are all over the place in The Promise of Light, as real as the craving for independence or the hills of Connemara." --The Boston Globe"Watkins is a territic writer...His books are lucid, intelligent and shamelessly entertaining, written in lean, evocative prose and displaying an uncommon delight in storytelling." --Washington Post Book World"A full-fashioned romantic...Watkins is aware of every burning cottage, every hedgerow ambush, every body thrown on the road - of the powerful emotional magic of that distance scene." --The New Yorker"Plaintive, beautifully realized." --The Chicago Tribune"The Promise of Light is that rare find, an action-packed book written in prose as sharp as the crack of rifle fire, as evocative as the smell of burning peat." --The Providence Journal

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top