Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Procession of the Dead (The City Trilogy, Book 1)
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The first volume in a noirish, gritty urban fantasy for adults from the bestselling author otherwise known as Darren Shan. Quick-witted and cocksure, young upstart Capac Raimi arrives in the City determined to make his mark. As he learns the tricks of his new trade from his Uncle Theo -- extortion, racketeering, threatening behaviour -- he's soon well on his way to becoming a promising new gangster. Then he crosses paths with The Cardinal, and his life changes forever. The Cardinal is the City and the City is The Cardinal. They are joined at the soul. Nothing moves on the streets, or below them, without the Cardinal's knowledge. His rule is absolute. As Capac begins to discover more about the extent of the Cardinal's influence on his own life he is faced with hard choices. And as his ambition soars ever higher he will learn all there is to know about loss, and the true cost of ultimate power! Lead title / A cool, culty thriller with a supernatural edge from an author already established as a bestseller with his fiction for children, with over 10 million copies of his books sold worldwide. / With huge appeal for older fans of Darren Shan's work (15+), as well as all those adults who secretly love it too. / Perfect for fans of Iain Banks and Neil Gaiman. / This was the author's first novel, written at the tender age of 24. Originally published in 1999, it has been thoroughly revised by the author for this new 'director's cut' version. / Competition: Iain Banks, Neil Gaiman, Clive Barker

About the Author

D. B. Shan is another pseudonym for Darren Shan the author of two hugely popular series for Children: 'The Saga of Darren Shan', and 'The Demonata' which have been read by millions of people around the world in over twenty different languages. The City Trilogy is his first work for adults. D B Shan lives in Ireland.

Reviews

'A beguiling read ! a fantastic revelation at the end' SFX 'Explicit, brutal fantasy ! the narrative voice is engagingly cocky and the action races along' Times

Shan's dystopic thriller, the first in a trilogy already published in the U.K., is an excellent, twisting foray into a world of deceit, murder, and mystery. Capac Raimi arrives in an unnamed city, a place ruled by a man known as the Cardinal, and quickly realizes that he has no memory of his life elsewhere. When the Cardinal kills Capac's uncle and offers Capac a job based on a dream and Capac's Incan name, the young man's life takes a turn for the fantastical. While training to serve the Cardinal, Capac embarks on a strange, gripping search for clues to both the disappearances of his friends and his own past. The dialogue is realistic, the characters and settings are vivid, and the plotting is tight, complemented perfectly by a bleak, desolate tone. Any fan of postapocalyptic fiction will find it absolutely riveting. (June) Copyright 2010 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Procession of the Dead (The City Trilogy, Book 1) (The City Trilogy) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top