Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Prince Of Mist
By

Rating
Product Details

Promotional Information

The Prince of Mists was top of the charts in Spain for 2 years. Perfect crossover book that will appeal to fans of Philip Pullman and The Book Thief as well as being page-turning reads for Carlos Zafon's adult fans. The books can be read on many levels but basically are thumping book reads with chilling undertones! Carlos Zafon's YA books have sold over 3 million copies in the Spanish language alone. The Shadow of the Wind has sold over 12 million copies worldwide with a staggering 1.3 million in Britain; The Angel's Game has just been published in Spain, sold 600,000 in its first week and has become the fastest selling book in Spanish history.

About the Author

CARLOS RUIZ ZAFON was born in Barcelona and is the award-winning author of five books. After Don Quixote, The Shadow of the Wind is the most successful Spanish novel ever, and has sold ten million copies worldwide. It has been translated into over forty languages, received numerous international awards and has been on the bestseller lists of several countries for more than four years.

Reviews

Everybody's talking about Carlos Ruiz Zafon, the bestselling author of The Shadow of the Wind, and The Angel's Game, who returns with The Prince of Mist. This very scary ghost story stayed at the top of the Spanish book charts for two years and is now translated into English for the first time. The haunting tale is aimed at readers of all ages, so is one to share with the whole family. GOOD HOUSEKEEPING - June 2010 In this page-turner, a young hero finds himself in a house haunted by secrets he is fated to uncover - but at what cost? Magical, and even though I'm a grown-up, SCARY! -- Lauren Laverne GRAZIA MAGAZINE - 27.04.09 Readers of all ages will find mystery, thrills, and nail-biting suspense - it has the force of Stephen King spiced with the subtlety of Neil Gaiman -- Waterstones Books Quarterly - April 2010 nine-year-old Max Carver sets out to rescue his nearest and dearest from the malevolent character who embroils his victims in sinister pacts. SFX magazine - July 2010 issue The first book from the Shadow of the Wind author - published in English at last - is an atmospheric thriller following a young hero as he explores his new house in the country. Described as a cross between Stephen King and Neil Gaiman, it proves young adult fiction can be as gripping as the adult version. TIMES EDUCATIONAL SUPPLEMENT - 21.05.10 Addictive page-turner with things that go bump in the night ESSENTIALS MAGAZINE - July 2010 Zafon mixes youthful romance, devilish pacts, salty seadogs, scary clowns and haunted shipwrecks with a generous hand, and you might not want to go diving again after reading this. -- Suzi Feay FINANCIAL TIMES Add a locked wardrobe from which a black cat with a glittering stare emerges after the key turns by itself, a station clock that goes backwards and a dark spectre intent on drowning all three characters, and there's still enough to care most readers. -- Nick Tucker THE INDEPENDENT - 25.06.10 When the author wrote this story, he had in mind a book that would appeal to all ages... That's the magic in the book for me, as the author has done just that. I was engrossed in every page and turned each one wanting more and more. Mr Ripley's Enchanted Books.blogspot.com A brilliant old-time ghost story for an audience probably new to such dazzling characterisation and spookiness... This is a first-time published author in complete control of his story. I didn't read this book - instead I swept over the incredibly visual film it mentally played in my head for three absorbing hours. It's a breathless rush of spookiness, with a firm punch to pack, as it evokes a dangerous, ethereal world, and does so almost perfectly. The Bookbag The steps into the tension are nail biting, increasingly creepy and often unsettling. This is when the reader needs to step back and admire Zafon's craft. The building of the disturbing atmosphere evokes a speeding up of the reading, the pace is relentless and language choices are perfect. 'The Prince Of Mist' will grab your imagination and pull you in. Caroline Smailes (blog) it certainly delivers as a horror novel. I was positively terrified reading it and nearly lost my mind in terror at least twice... Zafon is a writer of atmosphere and he is capable of infusing the smallest sequence with an incredible sense of mystique and ambience... A beautifully written horror novel which effectively scares and engages the reader. It may have been Carlos Ruiz Zafon's first novel but it certainly does not read like one. The Booksmugglers.com Utterly gripping, this is a deliciously haunting and chilling tale of dark magic and treachery which reaches out across time threatening all who cross its path. LOVEREADING4KIDS.CO.UK there are some genuinely, deliciously scary sequences that will thrill young readers, particularly if they, like me, have a thing about clowns. And by 'thing about, I mean, 'terrified hatred of -- Patrick Ness THE GUARDIAN

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Prince Of Mist on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top