How does Fishpond Work?

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Politics and Apocalypse
By

Rating
Apocalypse: To most, the word signifies destruction, death, the end of the world. But the literal definition is "revelation" or "unveiling," the basis from which renowned theologian Rene Girard builds his own view of Biblical apocalypse. Properly understood, Girard explains, Biblical apocalypse has nothing to do with a wrathful or vengeful God punishing his unworthy children, and everything to do with a foretelling of what future humans are making for themselves now that they have devised the instruments of global self-destruction. In this volume, some of the major thinkers about the interpenetration of politics and religion - including Eric Voegelin, Leo Strauss, and Carl Schmitt - are scrutinized by some of today's most qualified scholars, all of whom are thoroughly versed in Girard's groundbreaking work.Including an important new essay by Girard, this volume enters into a philosophical debate that challenges the bona fides of philosophy itself by examining three supremely important philosophers of the twentieth century. It asks how we might think about politics now that the attacks of 9/11 have shifted our intellectual foundations and what the outbreak of rabid religion might signify for international politics."Politics and Apocalypse" is the inaugural issue of the "Studies in Violence, Mimesis, and Culture" book series, which continues in the tradition of "Contagion: Journal of Violence, Mimesis, and Culture". This journal follows the research agenda of the Colloquium on Violence and Religion, an international association that draws inspiration from Rene Girard's mimetic hypothesis on the relationship between violence and religion, elaborated in a stunning series of books he has written over the last forty years.
Product Details

About the Author

Robert Hamerton-Kelly is Senior Research Scholar Emeritus at the Center for International Security and Arms Control at Stanford University. William A. Johnsen is the General Editor of the Studies in Violence, Mimesis, and Culture series and Contagion: Journal of Violence, Mimesis, and Culture. He is Professor of English at Michigan State University.

Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Politics and Apocalypse (Studies in Violence, Mimesis, and Culture Series) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top