Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Poison Thread
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Laura Purcell is the author of The Silent Companions. She worked in local government, the financial industry and a bookshop before becoming a full-time writer. She lives in Colchester, the oldest recorded town in England, with her husband and pet guinea pigs. Fascinated by the darker side of royal history, Laura has also written two historical fiction novels about the Hanoverian dynasty.

Reviews

"[A] well-wrought chiller."--Wall Street Journal

"Suspenseful... This smart and sophisticated historical thriller will appeal to fans of Sarah Waters's Fingersmith and Margaret Atwood's Alias Grace."--Publishers Weekly "A dark, gothic story... Purcell alternates character narratives to question motives, reality, and truth on a 'bumpy' ride full of violence and death."--Booklist

"A fascinating mystery that's rich in disquieting detail and at-mosphere."--BookPage "A chilling and engrossing read."--Kirkus "A potent, powerful novel: seductive, spellbinding, and - in every sense of the word - haunting. As atmospheric as Sarah Waters, as psychologically astute as Tana French."--A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author "[The Poison Thread is] a compelling slice of early Victorian gothic... Vivid and well researched, this book is an evocative portrait of a society that punishes women who dare to contravene social norms... a splendid mystery with suitably melodramatic flourishes."--The Guardian

"With the skill of a born story teller Laura Purcell has crafted a tale as intricate and flawless as Ruth's stitches. By turns horrifying and humorous, The Poison Thread is a darkly compelling, unsettling and fascinating book... the very best kind of gothic fiction. Reminiscent of Sarah Waters and Margaret Atwood, but uniquely and unmistakably Laura Purcell."--ES Thomson, author of the Jem Flockhart Mysteries

"This gothic chiller casts an addictive spell."--Sunday Mirror
"Intricate, atmospheric and chilling - with a wonderfully dark premise at its heart."--Woman & Home "Phantasmic thrills... A true page-turner."--Times Literary Supplement
Praise for The Silent Companions

"[An] extraordinary, memorable and truly haunting book."--Jojo Moyes, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"If The Silent Companions lands on your night table, don't plan on leaving your bed anytime soon. Immersive, meticulous, and reminiscent of the masters of gothic fiction--not only a compulsively readable ghost story, but a skillful, loving ode to the entire genre."--Lyndsay Faye, bestselling author of Jane Steele "Purcell crafts a virtually flawless work of Gothic fiction with this deeply atmospheric, foreboding story. . . . reminiscent of the work of all the greats, particularly Shirley Jackson and Daphne du Maurier, but Purcell has a style all her own. A must for all lovers of Gothic literature."--Library Journal
(starred review)
"This perfect fireside read combines all the best characteristics of the gothic genre."--Booklist "Laura Purcell weaves a classic tale of gothic horror. . . . Purcell has all the finest ingredients of the gothic tradition. . . . Reminiscent of Susan Hill's The Woman in Black and even du Maurier's Rebecca, The Silent Companions will chill readers who fall under its spell."--Shelf Awareness

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Poison Thread on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top