Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Places In Between
By

Rating
Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER: A brilliant account of a death defying walk through Afghanistan. Now with illustrations and a new afterword

About the Author

Rory Stewart was born in Hong Kong and grew up in Malaysia. After serving in the British Army, the Embassy in Indonesia and as British Representative in Montenegro, in 2000 he began walking from Turkey towards Bangladesh. He was recently awarded the OBE for his services as British Representative in Maysan, a province in southern Iraq.

Reviews

Thank goodness for brave people doing crazy things and for a writer in the tradition of Thesiger and Thubron * Spectator * An insight into the country that few could match * New Statesman * Wise, funny and marvelously humane -- Michael Ignatieff An astonishing achievement: a unique journey of great courage -- Colin Thubron This evocative book feels like a long lost relic of the great age of exploration * Guardian * [Stewart] must have balls of steel, but he writes like and angel all the same -- Giles Foden With a deft, at time poetic vividness, he describes an awesome landscape, scarred by a present and a past of violence and death . . . His encounters with Afghans are tragic, touching and terrifying * Daily Telegraph * This is traveling at its hardest and travel-writing at its best -- David Gilmour

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Places In Between on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top