Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Pilfer Academy
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Fans of Spy School, Escape From Mr. Lemoncello's Library and Roald Dahl will gobble up this hilarious story about a secret boarding school for thieves-in-training!

About the Author

Lauren Magaziner is originally from New Hope, Pennsylvania, and recently graduated from Hamilton College. Her first book, The Only Thing Worse Than Witches, was an Indie Next List Pick. Lauren lives in Brooklyn, New York, where she writes full time.

Reviews

Praise for Pilfer Academy "Magaziner creates another weird and silly world that mirrors Hogwarts without the magic...A fun fantasy romp."--Kirkus Reviews

"School-story buffs with a taste for absurd, off-kilter humor will find this a welcome addition to the mix."--BCCB "Highly entertaining."--SLJ

"A charming take onthe traditional boarding school story . . . humorous and engaging. This is an ideal choice for readers who wish boarding school books had a little more mischief.-- Booklist
"Magaziner establishes an anything-can-happen atmosphere from the start . . . and the goofiness, pranks, and student sabotage don't let up . . . an entirely enjoyable twist on a classic boarding school adventure."--
Publishers Weekly
Praise for The Only Thing Worse Than Witches *"Combines Roald Dahl's Witches and Louis Sachar's Wayside School . . . readers will banish themselves from the ordinary world to finish this book in a flash."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review "A rollicking tale . . . first-time novelist Lauren Magaziner fashions a rich and compelling alternative reality."--The Chicago Tribune "Magaziner's debut has echoes of Dahl's Matilda . . . a fun, frothy story that will, well, charm its readers."--Publishers Weekly "Mrs. Frabbleknacker is as awful as her name, with antics reminiscent of scenes from Louis Sachar's Sideways Stories from Wayside School gone wrong."--School Library Journal

"Ideal for middle-grade readers who love Roald Dahl's Matilda (1988) and enjoy humor with their fantasy, this debut novel is madcap and fantastical. It's the perfect thing for kids not quite ready for Diane Duane or Madeleine L'Engle."--Booklist "The kids' slowly forming friendship has real grace and authenticity . . . Eva Ibbotson fans will appreciate the quirky humor."--BCCB "This hilarious, light-hearted debut would be a great read-aloud for middle grade classrooms."--Library Media Connection

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » School
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Pilfer Academy: A School So Bad It's Criminal on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top