Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Payback
By

Rating
Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The brand new nerve-shattering thriller from the highly--acclaimed author of 'The Inside Ring', perfect for fans of Lee Child. / Conspiracy, assassins and deadly betrayal -- all the ingredients of a blockbuster thriller. / Perfect all the fans of Lee Child and David Baldacci. / Strong new packaging to ensure stand-out in store / Mike Lawson's debut novel 'The Inside Ring' was a highly acclaimed thriller on both sides of the Atlantic. / Competition: Lee Child, David Baldacci, Joseph Finder

About the Author

Mike Lawson is a former nuclear engineer who turned to full-time writing in May 2003. He lives with his family in the United States.

Reviews

Joe DeMarco returns for a second adventure after last year's excellent debut, The Inside Ring. This time out DeMarco, an unofficial operative for the Speaker of the House, is asked to casually look into a security company that may be price gouging the government for its services at a U.S. naval base. However, DeMarco's innocent investigation quickly becomes a deadly matter of national security, involving stolen top secret information, murder and a ruthless Chinese agent out for revenge. Poe does an excellent job reading this complex thriller, providing just the right pace to keep the thrill quality of the material high, yet pulls back when needed in order to present the more human and less melodramatic aspects. He is especially adept in bringing out the humor laced lightly through the book. Poe gives DeMarco a ruffled, slightly put-upon but ultimately heroic persona, a solid, multileveled characterization. Karen DiMattia's abridgment should also be noted, as her judicious cutting manages to keep the story moving at a ready clip but never sacrifices coherency or character. Simultaneous release with the Doubleday hardcover (Reviews, May 29). (July) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Praise for 'The Inside Ring' 'This assured first novel shows Michael Lawson to be a talented storyteller, and DeMarco makes a likeable hero as he follows an intricate trail through some typically murky American politics.' Daily Telegraph 'Mike Lawson shows every understanding of the skills required of a thriller writer to keep a reader fully engaged and utterly thrilled.' Guardian 'Mike Lawson writes a mean thriller and has a sense of humour that hurts. I love this one.' Independent on Sunday 'Smart, original, crafted with true insider knowledge, brimming with vivid characters and with a forward drive that just won't quit!I couldn't put it down.' Vince Flynn, author of 'Memorial Day'

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Payback on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top