COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Patient Zero
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Blistering pace, savage violence, betrayal and the horrors of science gone wrong Terrifying action thriller written by a martial arts expert and Bram Stoker award winning author Perfect for fans of Andy McNab and Matt Reilly as well as horror fans Day of the Dead, Shaun of the Dead, I am Legend - zombies have never been bigger 'His writing is powerful enough to sing with poetry while simultaneously scaring the hell out of you' TESS GERRITSEN Frightening and thrilling. Jonathan Maberry deserves to take his place among the best suspense writers of recent years JOHN CONNOLLY

About the Author

Jonathan Maberry is the Bram Stoker Award winning writer of, amongst others, Ghost Road Blues, Bad Moon Rising and Dead Man's Song. He is also an 8th level black belt in jujutsu and a 5th level black belt in kenjutsu. He is a professional writer of horror fiction and non fiction and martial arts manuals as well as being a creative writing teacher. He lives in the US with his his wife.

Reviews

While raiding a terrorist cell at the start of this exciting thriller from Stoker-winner Maberry (Dead Man's Song), Baltimore PD Det. Joe Ledger shoots two .45 slugs into Javad Mustapha, killing him very dead. Four days later, while trying out for a secret government antiterrorist unit, Joe has to kill Javad all over again. It appears the terrorists have figured out a way to make zombies, and they're about to turn the legions of the undead loose on the world. Terrorist El Mujahid and his brilliant scientist wife, Amirah, who created the zombies, are working with villainous international businessman Sebastian Gault. That Sebastian and Amirah are having wild sex in the lab shows that loyalties within the group of conspirators aren't all they should be. Joe leads a team of elite fighters against the zombies, a job he performs with spectacular skill. Plenty of man-to-zombie combat, a team traitor and a doomsday scenario add up to a fast and furious read. (Mar.) Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

An exemplary police officer and former soldier is about to join the FBI when he's contacted by a shadowy government agency that makes him an offer he can't refuse. He accepts and learns that hidden forces are bent on destroying the American way of life, and only he and his elite force of handpicked combat specialists can defeat them. It's the plot of any number of B-list spy thrillers, but two things save Bram Stoker Award winner Maberry's (Ghost Road Blues) novel from being a hackneyed cliche. First, the threat isn't bombs or hijackers but a manufactured plague that turns its victims into zombies. Second, readers get a view into the minds and motivations of protagonist Joe Ledger via his best friend and psychotherapist, lending the story extra depth. The villains, by contrast, are one-dimensional stereotypes of greed, lust, and zealotry. Maberry's web site (www.jonathanmaberry.com) shows release dates for two other Joe Ledger novels in 2010 and 2011. Recommended for medium-sized to large public libraries.-Karl G. Siewert, Tulsa City-Cty. Lib. Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

His writing is powerful enough to sing with poetry while simultaneously scaring the hell out of you. - Tess Gerritsen.Frightening and thrilling. Jonathan Maberry deserves to take his place among the best suspense writers of recent years. - John Connolly.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Patient Zero on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top