Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Pao
By

Rating
Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

This story of Jamaica through the twentieth century sheds new light on an extraordinary country, through an unforgettable voice Kerry Young draws on her own mixed-heritage family history in Jamaica for this remarkable debut For fans of Andrea Levy, Monique Roffey, Toni Morrison and Edwidge Danticat

About the Author

Kerry Young was born in Kingston, Jamaica, to a Chinese father and mother of mixed Chinese-African heritage. She came to England in 1965 at the age of ten. Kerry's early life with her father, a businessman who operated within Kingston's shadow economy, provided the inspiration for Pao. Kerry Young has written extensively on issues relating to youth work, including The Art of Youth Work. She lives in Leicestershire.

Reviews

Impressive ... Told in a kind of Chinese-Jamaican patois, the first person narrative is captivating ... With grace, authenticity and humour, Young lets Jamaica's political history shine through the life story of her charming yet fallible hero. Brilliant * Daily Mail *
Kerry Young's energetic debut novel is a pacy but absorbing saga of domestic struggle and gangland manoeuvring set against the violent backdrop of postwar Jamaican politics ... Murder, corruption, blackmail, kidnap and incest drive the narrative ... Foregrounding Pao's personal travails against Jamaica's complex and deep-seated conflicts gives panoramic depth to the punchy tale of pungent characters and impassioned entanglements * Independent on Sunday *
Lovingly recreates the Jamaican Chinese world of [Young's] childhood, with its betting parlours, laundries, fortune telling shops, supermarkets and (business being a hard game in Jamaica) gang warfare ... In pages of patois-inflected prose, Pao celebrates the islands vibrant ethnic mix ... Confirms Young as a gifted new writer. Her novel is a blindingly good read in parts, both for its mesmeric story-telling and the quality of its prose * Observer *
A vivid portrayal of the complexities of Jamaica's violent underworld ... Kerry Young's heartfelt, sparky and affecting debut novel is a chronicle of multicultural Jamaica, both in its cultural richness and in its strife and tensions * Guardian *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Pao on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top