SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Our Short History
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

LAUREN GRODSTEIN is the author of four previous works of fiction, including the New York Times bestselling novel A Friend of the Family, which was a Washington Post Best Book Pick, a New York Times Editor's Pick, a BookPage Best Book, and an Indie Next Pick. She teaches creative writing at Rutgers University. Her website is www.laurengrodstein.com.

Reviews

"In Our Short History, Lauren Grodstein breaks your heart, then miraculously pieces it back together so it's bigger--and stronger--than before. This novel will leave you appreciating both the messiness of life and the immense depths of love."
--Celeste Ng, author of Everything I Never Told You

"One of the best books of 2017 . . . Grodstein has not just written another beautiful book, but one with deep purpose and meaning."
--Roar

"-Grodstein's heartbreaking, character-driven story is told in the remarkable, believable voice of a courageous, sympathetic character."
--Library Journal, starred review

"A tender tale...Grodstein has a fine touch, alternately sarcastic, perceptive and wistful."
--Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Lauren Grodstein has subtly written a cathartic and unexpectedly profound book . . . It's also impossible to put down."
--St. Louis Post Dispatch

"Lauren Grodstein has written a book with such a complicated range of emotion that I can't quite understand how she does it. In highlighting the fragility and depth of the relationship between a parent and a child, Grodstein miraculously makes you love the complexity of this world even as it tears you apart. Our Short History is a novel that will reverberate in your heart long after you finish it."
--Kevin Wilson, author of The Family Fang

"Fans of Wit and Life and Other Near-Death Experiences will love Karen's unflinchingly honest journey."
--Booklist, starred review

"Funny and fast-paced and extraordinarily insightful on every page. . . . Anyone lucky enough to get roughed-up by Grodstein's devastating, fearlessly honest, often hilarious, gorgeously written novel will exit it changed."
--Karen Russell, author of Vampires in the Lemon Grove

"Karen is a character many will love--determined, flawed, loving, witty. . . . a poignant and realistic portrait."
--Kirkus Reviews

"A meditation on love and grief . . . Lauded novelist Lauren Grodstein plunges into both beautiful and ugly emotions without hesitation."
--Bookpage

"(A) deeply affecting novel...This is a tearjerker of a story, but not a mushy one -- and it provides a charming, occasionally funny portrait of a mother trying to come to terms with both her death and her legacy."
--The National Book Review

"Funny as well as poignant, sad but not maudlin."
--Shelf Awareness

"This gave me all the feels. I didn't want it to end."
--Jaime Herndon, Book Riot

"Grodstein deftly explores family relationships."
--Publishers Weekly

"A tender, heartrending book."
--Flavorwire

"Poignant."
--Harper's Bazaar

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Our Short History on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top