Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Nightfall Berlin
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Rich, atmospheric Cold War thriller for fans of Joseph Kanon and Tom Rob Smith.

About the Author

Jack Grimwood, a.k.a. Jon Courtenay Grimwood, was born in Malta and christened in the upturned bell of a ship. He grew up in the Far East, Britain and Scandinavia. Apart from novels, he writes for national newspapers including The Times, Telegraph, Independent and Guardian. Jon is two-time winner of the BSFA Award for Best Novel, with Felaheen and then End of the World Blues. His literary novel, The Last Banquet, published under the name Jonathan Grimwood, was shortlisted for Le Prix Montesquieu 2015. His work has been translated into fifteen languages. He is married to the journalist and novelist Sam Baker. Nightfall Berlin is his second thriller.

Reviews

A fine book this, for those who enjoy vintage Le Carre * Ian Rankin *
Moskva was one of the most impressive spy thrillers of 2016 . . . Nightfall Berlin is even better. Grimwood's portrayal of dark and frightening East Berlin is excellent and he is skilful at describing the politics of espionage * The Times *
A gripping Cold War tale that manages to be original as well as give a nod to classic John Le Carre * The Sun *
The atmosphere and tension perfectly pitched this excellent Cold War thriller with memorable well-drawn characters is compulsive reading * Choice Magazine *
A twisty tale of Cold War conflict, which sees tormented intelligence officer Tom Fox caught up in a dark story of establishment lies and long-buried secrets * The Independent *
A book that pulls you in, teaches you something and gives you a protagonist you can't get enough of ... If you liked Ian McEwan's The Innocent, you'll love this evocation of Berlin at the other end of the Cold War * The Pool *
The new Le Carre . . . an absolutely brilliant page turner . . . if you love thrillers, Jack Grimwood is a name you need to remember * BBC Radio 2 The Sara Cox Show *
Nightfall Berlin is just fabulous. So atmospheric, so elegantly written. The character, Major Tom Fox is intriguing... like Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch, or like early le Carre. I really recommend it. I just disappeared into it totally. -- Marian Keyes
A gripping Cold War thriller where life hangs by a thread. Dark secrets from the lawless rubble of WW2 threaten world peace and the family of British spy Tom Fox. After the success of Moskva, Grimwood works his magic on the grey but edgy streets of East Berlin. A powerful, addictive, twisty tale where no-one can be trusted. -- David Young, author of Stasi Child
Spring's best thriller * Observer *
Note-perfect ... Jack Grimwood is about to become your new favourite thriller writer * Independent *
An extraordinarily atmospheric and immersive read ... escapism at its best * Good Housekeeping *
The rejuvenation of the espionage thriller continues apace with Nightfall Berlin * Guardian *
The thriller of the summer ... Grimwood raises the stakes in this dark, twisty tale of Cold War conflict * iPaper *
The superior spy thriller of the year. Le Carre fans will be delighted -- Amanda Craig
Mesmerising, surefooted, vividly realised . . . something special in the arena of international thrillers * Financial Times *
A compulsive and supremely intelligent thriller from a master stylist -- Michael Marshall * author of The Straw Men *
Even better than Child 44 . . . A blizzard of exciting set pieces, superbly realized * Daily Telegraph *
Grimwood is a damned fine writer * Independent *
The writing is elegant, the dialogue razor sharp, the characters drawn economically but effectively, and the action is unrelenting * SciFi Now *
Conjures up the city so vividly that you can almost touch the place * SFX *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Nightfall Berlin: `For those who enjoy vintage Le Carre' Ian Rankin on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top