Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Night Watch
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Linda Fairstein was chief of the Sex Crimes Unit of the district attorney s office in Manhattan for more than two decades and is America s foremost legal expert on sexual assault and domestic violence. Her Alexandra Cooper novels are international bestsellers and have been translated into more than a dozen languages. She lives in Manhattan and on Martha s Vineyard."

Reviews

"The Queen of Intelligent Suspense." Lee Child [Linda Fairstein] delivers another compelling story with her latest book, Night Watch. Fairstein, a former prosecutor in the Manhattan district attorney's office, knows her stuff. Her insider knowledge brings a realistic feel to the proceedings Fans of "Law and Order: Special Victims Unit" will enjoy the behind-the-scenes perspective. Associated Press "Alex Cooper is a fascinating heroine...based on the equally fascinating life of her creator." "O, The Oprah Magazine" Fairstein s extensive prosecutorial experience adds authenticity to this thrilling procedural, a tasty souffle of escargot, Beaujolais, cocaine, and murder that will entice the author s many fans. "Library Journal" With "Night Watch," both devotees and new readers alike will delight at the return of Alex Cooper and her professional partners and close friends Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace "Vineyard Gazette" "Long before sex crimes became everyday fictional fare on America's favorite cop shows, Linda Fairstein was in court and on the streets working ripped-from-the-headlines cases." "USA Today" A real winner from a legal-thriller master Fairstein is on a roll with her Alexander Cooper series and it s likely to continue here. "Booklist "(starred review) "Fairstein is superbly attuned to the sinister vibes of the famous, as well as forgotten, New York City locales." Maureen Corrigan, NPR.org "Fanswill be hungry for this; look for the eight- to ten-city tour." "Library Journal" "Linda Fairstein is one of my favorite writers....her stories never fail to thrill." Karin Slaughter The historical facts sprinkled with the compelling crimes and characters create a worthwhile read that fans of the "Law and Order "TV series will savor. After finishing "Silent Mercy," readers will eagerly seek out her other novels. Associated Press on "Silent Mercy""

Fairstein has written more than a dozen Alex Cooper mysteries. This installment takes the lawyer through a single wild week, starting with a romantic night in France with her lover, three-star restaurant owner Luc Roget, and continuing back in New York City where she helps prosecute one more sex crime. The author plays off the real-life drama of the hotel maid who accused the head of the International Monetary Fund of sexual assault. Complicating the increasingly muddled accusation are -Alex's concerns over two murders that are too close to Luc. The familiar characterization of Alex may be weakened by the romantic angle, but it allows Fairstein to stretch the key roles for Alex's detective allies, Mike Chapman and Wallace Mercer. VERDICT A solid mystery read well by the formidable Barbara Rosenblat, this is recommended for large mystery collections. ["Fairstein's extensive prosecutorial experience adds authenticity to this thrilling procedural, a tasty souffle of escargots, Beaujolais, cocaine, and murder that will entice the author's many fans," read the review of the Dutton hc, LJ 6/1/12.-Ed.]-Joyce Kessel, Villa Maria Coll., Buffalo (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top