Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Never Look a Polar Bear in the Eye
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Zac Unger is a writer as well as a firefighter and paramedic with the Oakland Fire Department. He is the author of Working Fire: The Making of a Fireman and has written for Slate, The Economist, Men's Journal, and other publications.

Reviews

Dan Rubenstein, Canadian Geographic"Zac Unger's deep dive into the health of polar bear populations around the world cuts through the sound-bite science typically reported by the mainstream media to explore the truth about the status of this species. It's also a very engaging and entertaining book to read-no small feat when tackling such complex subject matter." Parents, February 2013"[A] hilarious and informative memoir... Cozy up to a fire and check out this funny, insightful wintry read. Fans of Wild, Into the Wild and other outdoorsy tomes will love Never Look a Polar Bear in the Eye." Shelf Awareness, 2/1/13"Well-researched, highly detailed... Unger's prose is gritty, sometimes snarky, but well-intentioned... Since few of us will ever see a polar bear in the wild, Unger gives us a close a look as we're likely to get." San Jose Mercury News, 1/31/13"In this amusing and informative account of their two years in a tiny town, the author interacts with tourists and locals, scientists and conservationists-and, of course, the bears themselves." Topeka Capital Journal, 2/7/13 "Part travelogue, part history lesson and part memoir, Never Look a Polar Bear in the Eye bear-ly scratches the surface of ecopolitics, too, although author Unger surely tries to look at the subject from all sides. Unger is serious in the research he presents, but that's about as far as the solemnity goes: This book will make you laugh, it will entertain you, and it will make your heart pound just a little. It's also a good argument-starter, so if you're looking for discourse on global warming, you'll find it here. Read Never Look a Polar Bear in the Eye, because even in the snow, nothing is ever black and white." Winnipeg Free Press, 2/2/13"[An] often hilarious but deeply informed page-turner." San Francisco Chronicle, 2/10/13"An engaging book that's equal parts adventure story, family memoir and environmental expose." Lawrence Eagle Tribune, 2/10/13"This book will make you laugh, it will entertain you, and it will make your heart pound just a little. It's also a good argument-starter. So if you're looking for discourse on global warming you'll find it here." San Francisco Book Review, 2/12/13"[Zac Unger is] quick with a witty twist of a phrase."

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Science » Nature » Bears
Home » Books » Travel » Canada » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Never Look a Polar Bear in the Eye: A Family Field Trip to the Arctic's Edge in Search of Adventure, Truth, and Mini-Marshmallows on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top