Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Meditations
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The first new translation in 35 years Contains wisdom that has been tested over 2000 years - one of the greatest works of spiritual and ethical reflection ever written The favourite book of Frederick the Great, Pope, Goethe and President Clinton For fans of A.C. Grayling and Alain de Botton - people who want philosophy to be accessible and to help them in their lives 'The Meditations are an "unassailable wintry kingdom". But in the desert of 2003, their icy blasts are refreshing and restorative. They tell you the worst. And having heard the worst, you feel less bad' Blake Morrison, Guardian

About the Author

Marcus Aurelius reigned from 161 AD to 180 AD- perhaps the only true philosopher- king in the history of the world. In his MEDITATIONS, a series of notes to himself, he formulated his pantheist Stoic beliefs with a passionate religious conviction. The MEDITATIONS were written day by day, in every situation including war. They often appear to be responses to the stress of supreme power, from the imminent fear of death in battle, to the trials of everyday life. Gregory Hays, the translator, is Assistant Professor of Classics at the University of Virginia. Gregory Hays is Assistant Professor of Classics at the University of Virginia. He has published articles and reviews on various ancient writers and is currently completing a translation and critical study of the mythographer Fulgentius.

Reviews

Penguin strikes again with a wonderful new series called "Great Ideas" featuring 12 books by great thinkers dating back to the first millennium B.C.E. through the mid-20th century, covering art, politics, literature, philosophy, science, history, and more. Each slim paperback is individually designed, and all are affordable at $8.95. A great idea indeed. Snap 'em up! Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

"An ancient work of spiritual reflection from the Roman emperor, which remains a powerful reminder of how we could live a more dignified life by avoiding deceit, vanity and greed." OK! MAGAZINE - HOT STARS SUPPLEMENT "Meditations is unaffected by time and offers plenty of wisdom." IRISH EXAMINER

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Meditations on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top