SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Maxi's Secrets
By

Rating
Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

When a BIG, lovable, does-it-her-way dog wiggles her way into the heart of a loudmouth pipsqueak of a boy, wonderful things happen that help him become a bigger, better person. Perfect for fans of Because of Winn-Dixie.

About the Author

Lynn Plourde (www.lynnplourde.com) is the author of 29 picture books, and Maxi's Secrets is her debut middle-grade novel. A former speech-language therapist, she worked in public schools for twenty-one years. She was born and raised in Maine, where she still lives, and she loves spending time outdoors snowshoeing, walking, kayaking, and gardening.

Reviews

"The secrets are little gems, providing food for thought . . . The characters are fully developed, and the delicate subjects of bullying and disabilities are dealt with deftly and with humor. The story would make a great read-aloud, as Plourde has created humorous and believable characters that readers will be cheering for . . . Will have wide appeal to dog lovers and those looking for a feel-good tale of overcoming adversity."--School Library Journal "Plourde's skillful blend of humor, pathos, and wisdom creates a story that begs to be shared with middle-grade students, who will fall in love with a deaf dog, her steadfast owner, and the rest of the characters who populate the novel . . . A story of love and friendship that deserves to join the ranks of other unforgettable canines and their owners."--Booklist "Timminy is a funny, personable narrator . . . A hopeful, satisfying conclusion. Bullying and disabilities are handled honestly . . . Perfect for reading aloud, any middle-level or younger student, especially dog lovers, will adore this humorous, heartwarming story of overcoming adversity."--Voice of Youth Advocates "Timminy's coping strategies could help readers dealing with the loss of a pet . . . This earnest boy-and-his-dog tale makes a strong case for Secret No. 11: 'There's nothing so bad in the world that dog kisses won't make it better.'"--Kirkus Reviews "Plourde clearly shows Maxi's remarkable influence on the lives of Timminy, his family, and his friends. This story is a tender reminder that perceived shortcomings don't define us and that the power of friendship can't be underestimated."--Publishers Weekly

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Maxi's Secrets: (Or, What You Can Learn from a Dog) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top