COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Magic Under Glass
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Pushing the boundaries for the genre as it blends fantasy, gothic intrigue, historical fiction and a healthy dash of romance For fans of Sally Gardner's I, Coriander Jaclyn Dolamore is a lyrical new voice with boundless potential. She is already working on her second book

About the Author

Jaclyn Dolamore lives in Florida, USA. This is her first book and it marks the debut of a very exciting new talent.

Reviews

Back home, 17-year-old Nimira was the daughter of an honored artist, but in Lorinar she's just an exotic singer in a music hall, hating the smoky, cutthroat city. When the sorcerer Hollin Parry offers her a luxurious life in return for singing with his piano-playing automaton, she accepts immediately. Hollin's country estate is splendid but unwelcoming, and Hollin, though attractive, is a man with secrets. Having heard rumors, Nimira is not entirely surprised when the automaton begins to stare at her and make noises that have nothing to do with the piano. She learns that the automaton is actually Erris, a lost fairy prince, and Nimira faces both personal and political challenges as she attempts to release Erris from his clockwork enchantment. Debut author Dolamore draws heavily on Jane Eyre and its themes of sexual and class prejudice for her plot, reshaping the source material with skill. Nimira is not as high-minded as Jane, and her apotheosis is not as sweet, but hints of a sequel indicate that readers may learn more about Nimira in the future. Ages 12-up. (Jan.) Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

'A memorable, delicate and ethereal fairytale romance' Bookseller 'The prose has a delicate, ethereal quality that matches the story well' SFX Magazine 'A dark, florid vigour runs through it' Financial Times 'Precise and picturesque, this is a sterling debut' Literary Review

Gr 8-10-While working in a run-down music hall, Nimira, 17, is hired to sing accompaniment to an automaton that plays the piano. The "clockwork man," in the possession of wealthy, handsome Hollin Parry, a powerful sorcerer, is more than it seems. A fairy prince, Erris has been trapped in the automaton, and Nimira's struggle to free him, and their growing love for one another, is only part of the story. Mixed into this stunning debut novel are enough plot points to keep readers interested. With touches of steampunk, romance, fantasy, and mystery, there is a little something for everyone. The only downside, if there is one, is that the ending is inconclusive, leaving readers with the feeling that a second book will follow.-Valerie Davis, Campbell County Public Library, Newport, KY Copyright 2010 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » General
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top