COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Lost World: A Novel


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents


About the Author

Michael Crichton was born in Chicago and was graduated summa cum laude from Harvard University. At twenty-three, Crichton was a visiting lecturer in anthropology at Cambridge University, England. Upon his return to the States, Crichton began training as a doctor, and was graduated from Harvard Medical School in 1969. He paid his way through medical school by writing pseudonymous thrillers, one of which (A Case of Need, 1968) won an Edgar Award. By the time he graduated, Crichton had already written a bestseller (The Andromeda Strain, 1969) and sold it to Hollywood. He then pursued postgraduate studies at the Salk Institute in California before taking up writing full time.
Crichton has written ten novels -- The Andromeda Strain, 1969; The Terminal Man, 1972; The Great Train Robbery, 1975; Eaters of the Dead, 1976; Congo, 1980; Sphere, 1987; Jurassic Park, 1990; Rising Sun, 1992; Disclosure, 1994; and The Lost World, 1995 -- each of which displays an intimate knowledge of a different, specialist subject, among them primatology, neurobiology, biophysics, international economics, Nordic history and genetics. He has directed six movies, including Westworld, Coma, and The Great Train Robbery, and is the creator of the hit television series ER (which won eight emmys in 1995). He is a computer expert who wrote one of the first books about information technology (Electronic Life, 1983); he has run a software company; he has designed a computer game called Amazon; is a committed collector of modern art and the author of a learned study on Jasper Johns (Jasper Johns, 1977). His other works of nonfiction include Five Patients: The Hospital Explained, 1970, and Travels, 1988. Crichton's novels have been translated into twenty-four languages; eight of his novels have been made into films, including Jurassic Park, one of the most successful films in motion picture history.
Michael Crichton is married and lives in Los Angeles.


abridgment of Crichton's latest novel, a sequel of sorts to the best-selling Jurassic Park (Knopf, 1990). Ian Malcolm, who supposedly died at the end of Jurassic Park, nonetheless returns to the islands off Costa Rica with a new crew to search for lost worlds of dinosaurs and investigate several theories of extinction. Unfortunately, The Lost World comes up short compared to the intrigue that the extraction, repair, and replication of dinosaur DNA generated for readers and listeners in Jurassic Park. Instead, The Lost World consists mostly of more dinosaurs that chase and sometimes capture Malcolm's cohorts or members of a rival gang led by an unscrupulous genetic engineer, Lew Dodgson. Dodgson would love to steal a few dinosaur eggs as part of a scheme to hatch the perfect laboratory animal ("If they're extinct, then they can't have any rights," Dodgson observes). Recommended.-Cliff Glaviano, Bowling Green State Univ. Libs., Ohio

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top