Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Little Mercies
By

Rating
In her latest ripped-from-the-headlines tour de force, New York Times bestselling author Heather Gudenkauf shows how one small mistake can have life-altering consequencesVeteran social worker Ellen Moore has seen the worst side of humanitythe vilest acts one person can commit against another. She is a fiercely dedicated children's advocate and a devoted mother and wife. But one blistering summer day, a simple moment of distraction will have repercussions that Ellen could never have imagined, threatening to shatter everything she holds dear, and trapping her between the gears of the system she works for.Meanwhile, ten-year-old Jenny Briard has been living with her well-meaning but irresponsible father since her mother left them, sleeping on friends' couches and moving in and out of cheap motels. When Jenny suddenly finds herself on her own, she is forced to survive with nothing but a few dollars and her street smarts. The last thing she wants is a social worker, but when Ellen's and Jenny's lives collide, little do they know just how much they can help one another.A powerful and emotionally charged tale about motherhood and justice, Little Mercies is a searing portrait of the tenuous grasp we have on the things we love the most, and of the ties that unexpectedly bring us together."
Product Details

Reviews

"Compelling... gripping." -Publishers Weekly "Gudenkauf's prose is searingly raw....Thrilling and emotionally tender, this novel, with its driving pace, will appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult."-Booklist "Deeply moving and exquisitely lyrical, this is a powerhouse of a novel."-Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author, on The Weight of Silence "A tense and profoundly emotional story...told with compassion and honesty. Heather Gudenkauf skillfully weaves an explosive tale of suspense and ultimately, the healing power of love."-Susan Wiggs, #1 New York Times bestselling author on The Weight of Silence "Fans of Jodi Picoult will devour this."-Red magazine on The Weight of Silence "Beautifully written, compassionately told, and relentlessly suspenseful."-Diane Chamberlain, New York Times bestselling author, on The Weight of Silence "A tale so chillingly real, it could have come from the latest headlines."-Publishers Weekly on These Things Hidden, starred review "Heather Gudenkauf has captured heart-wrenching emotion and spilled it out on the pages of her moving novel.... A remarkable story."-Fresh Fiction on These Things Hidden "One Breath Away takes the reader on an electrifying ride.... I dare you to forget it."-Elizabeth Flock, New York Times bestselling author "I have burns on my fingers from turning the pages too fast."-Lesley Kagen, New York Times bestselling author, on One Breath Away "Fans of Jodi Picoult will devour this." -Red magazine on The Weight of Silence "Compelling... gripping." -Publishers Weekly "Fans of Jodi Picoult will devour this."-Red magazine on The Weight of Silence

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Little Mercies on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top