The Length of a String
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Imani is adopted, and she's ready to search for her birth parents. Anna has left behind her family to escape from Holocaust-era Europe to meet a new family--two journeys, one shared family history, and the bonds that make us who we are. Perfect for fans of The Night Diary.

About the Author

Elissa Brent Weissman is the award-winning author of several middle grade novels, including the Nerd Camp series, and the editor of Our Story Begins, an anthology of writing and art by today's kids' book creators back when they were kids themselves. She is a graduate of Johns Hopkins University and earned a Master's degree in children's literature at Roehampton University in London. Named one of CBS Baltimore's Best Authors in Maryland, Elissa lives with her family in Baltimore, where she teaches creative writing to children, college students, and adults.

Reviews

Praise for The Length of a String

Sydney Taylor Honor Book, awarded by the Association of Jewish Libraries
Tablet Magazine's Best Jewish Children's Books of 2018

"Told in two voices which Weissman weaves together like a double helix, this is a story of family ties, some of which are broken by war, some broken by choice, some broken by unanswered questions. But by the end, readers will see that love and faith-from strangers, from friends, and from long-gone ancestors-have the power to knit us together with strings that are so much stronger than genetics. I loved this sweet refuge of a book." -Kathi Appelt, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Underneath and The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp

"You'll yearn with this wonderful heroine as she searches for long-ago Anna and her own hidden past. The characters are unforgettable, and the ending is entirely satisfying. A book readers will love; I know I did." -Patricia Reilly Giff, Newbery Honor-winning author of Lily's Crossing

"The Length of a String is a resounding continuum of connection and search for self. As universal as it is personal. A must read." -Rita Williams-Garcia, Newbery Honor-winning author of One Crazy Summer

"Weissman's newest adds to her oevre of middle-grade novels featuring smart kids learning life lessons." -Booklist

"Pair this with Lois Lowry's Number the Stars for Jewish historical fiction with heart. An excellent addition with strong curricular ties." -School Library Journal

"Both Anna and Imani are richly drawn characters, complex and sympathetic. . . . [A] moving, deftly plotted story." -Publishers Weekly

"The reader watches as [Imani] deepens her understanding of who she is and the world around her-page by page, emotion by emotion. . . . Highly recommended." -Jewish Book Council

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Length of a String on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top