Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Late for Tea at the Deer Palace
By

Rating
"It's an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this." --Christopher HitchensIn the tradition of Jung Chang's Wild Swans and Bhutto Benazir's Reconciliation comes Tamara Chalabi's unique memoir of returning to her family's homeland, Iraq. In this epic story of one daughter's journey through the annals of her family's tumultuous history, Chalabi's powerful voice and piercing vision illuminate her country and its people as never before.
Product Details

Reviews

"Fascinating. . . .Chalabi is a natural storyteller. . . .There are absorbing vignettes that describe everyday life in Iraqi high society as it has never before appeared in English. . . .An often beautiful and vivid but tragically belated book."--Ann Marlowe, "The Daily" A sweeping, enchanting memoir. . . Late for Tea at the Deer Palace deftly combines elements of history and memoir, but shines most when the author lets the characters' stories tell the history of Iraq.--The Associated Press "An absorbing social history of Iraq. . .A work of exile literature, beautifully written, rich with human detail as only personal family histories can be."--New York Times Book Review Through this vibrant literary memoir, readers learn about Iraq's history and a notable family's experience of the country, no matter how far away. Recommended for general readers."--Library Journal "A gripping and well-told saga. . . .An eye-opening account of the family's long history at the center of Iraq's royal court."--"The Nation" "A sweeping, enchanting memoir . . . "Late for Tea at the Deer Palace" deftly combines elements of history and memoir, but shines most when the author lets the characters' stories tell the history of Iraq."--"The Associated Press" An absorbing social history of Iraq. . . . A work of exile literature, beautifully written, rich with human detail as only personal family histories can be. --"The New York Times Book Review"" Chalabi reconstructs her family s past in novelistic scenes that demonstrate impressive scholarship. --"The New Yorker"" One small way to rebuild a country after war may be to hold a picture of its true beauty, which is what Chalabi does. --"The Los Angeles Times"" A sweeping, enchanting memoir . . . "Late for Tea at the Deer Palace" deftly combines elements of history and memoir, but shines most when the author lets the characters stories tell the history of Iraq. --"The Associated Press"" A gripping and well-told saga. . . . An eye-opening account of the family s long history at the center of Iraq s royal court. --"The Nation"" Fascinating. . . . Chalabi is a natural storyteller. . . . There are absorbing vignettes that describe everyday life in Iraqi high society as it has never before appeared in English. . . . An often beautiful and vivid but tragically belated book. --Ann Marlowe, "The Daily"" It s an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this. --Christopher Hitchens" "It's an admirable endeavour to have Iraq addressed by someone who is in so many ways able to approach it from two worlds. . . . Tamara Chalabi has the stuff, in every sense, that is needful to undertake this."--Christopher Hitchens "Fascinating. . . . Chalabi is a natural storyteller. . . . There are absorbing vignettes that describe everyday life in Iraqi high society as it has never before appeared in English. . . . An often beautiful and vivid but tragically belated book."--Ann Marlowe, The Daily "A gripping and well-told saga. . . . An eye-opening account of the family's long history at the center of Iraq's royal court."--The Nation "A sweeping, enchanting memoir . . . Late for Tea at the Deer Palace deftly combines elements of history and memoir, but shines most when the author lets the characters' stories tell the history of Iraq."--The Associated Press "One small way to rebuild a country after war may be to hold a picture of its true beauty, which is what Chalabi does."--The Los Angeles Times "Chalabi reconstructs her family's past in novelistic scenes that demonstrate impressive scholarship."--The New Yorker "An absorbing social history of Iraq. . . . A work of exile literature, beautifully written, rich with human detail as only personal family histories can be."--The New York Times Book Review

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Late for Tea at the Deer Palace: The Lost Dreams of My Iraqi Family on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top