SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Lament for the Fallen
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Perfect for fans of David Mitchell, Michel Faber and J G Ballard, this darkly compelling literary debut tells a thrilling story that is shot through with hope and a transcendent sense of wonder.

About the Author

Born in Cape Town in 1974, Gavin Chait emigrated to the UK nearly ten years ago. He has degrees in Microbiology & Biochemistry, and Electrical Engineering. He is an economic development strategist and data scientist, and has travelled extensively in Africa, Latin America, Europe and Asia and is now based in Oxford. His first novel, Lament for the Fallen, was critically acclaimed (Eric Brown in the Guardian called it 'a compulsively readable, life affirming tale'). Our Memory Like Dust is his second.

Reviews

"Refreshingly different . . . exhilarating . . . a compulsively readable, life-affirming tale told in direct, lambent prose, and Chait does a masterful job of juxtaposing a traditional African setting with a convincing depiction of a far-future alien society." -- Eric Brown * GUARDIAN *
"Lyrical prose and imaginative world-building . . . the book is gripping, powerful and frequently impressive . . . an ambitious and intelligent work that marks out Chait as a writer worthy of further attention." -- Saxon Bullock * SFX magazine *
"Out of this world engrossing. You don't have to understand the science to believe in it . . . superb world building . . . aided by enchanting fables and philosophies weaved into the narrative, Lament for the Fallen is an often poetic, occasionally disturbing, and always enthralling tale that has all the thematic ingredients to make it one of the best sci-fi books of 2016." * CULTUREFLY *
"Richly drawn . . . a smart, ideas-driven novel . . . a promising and ambitious debut." * SCiFiNOW *
"Loved the whole experience as Gavin brought solid world building into the mix alongside cracking pace as well as dialogue that just tripped off the page . . . a great read . . . Magic." * FALCATA TIMES *
"Highly readable . . . Chait should be applauded for managing that all important trick of getting you to keep turning that page until there aren't any left . . . smart, ideas-led science fiction with a literary fiction bent." * STARBURST magazine *
"Astonishingly accomplished . . . the writing is very elegant, switching between scenes of shocking brutality and images of incredible beauty, but the thing that really sets this book apart from other sci-fi that I've read is its heart. A deep humanity animates the very core of the book . . . a beautifully constructed novel, interrogating the question of what makes us human and what makes us humane . . . do seek out this novel because I think you'll be intrigued and pleasantly surprised even if you don't normally read sci-fi." * IDLEWOMAN.NET *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Lament for the Fallen on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top