Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Lady Bette and the Murder of MR Thynn
By

Rating
Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The true story of a sensational marriage and murder in 17th-century London. For fans of WEDLOCK, THE SUSPICIONS OF MR WHICHER and GEORGIANA: DUCHESS OF DEVONSHIRE.

About the Author

Nigel Pickford read English at Cambridge University, and is a professional maritime historian who has made documentaries for Channel 4 and published books with Dorling Kindersley and National Geographic.

Reviews

Pickford has marshalled an extraordinary historical cast and provides an exciting and truly well-informed whodunit. -- Alexandra Henton * THE FIELD * Pickford's narrative conjures up scenes straight from a Gainsborough melodrama - murder, mystique and wealth set to the backdrop of the sleazy world of London's taverns and brothels, to the grandeur of Syon and Petworth's vast estates. The prose is vivid and atmospheric, where a trip to the gallows was the height of entertainment. As they say, truth is stranger than fiction. -- Lyndsy Spence * THE MITFORD SOCIETY * ..this meticulously researched story of a scandalous marriage and sensational murder is engrossingly told. * CHOICE MAGAZINE * Pickford has unearthed a fascinating early example of the modern murder. * THE INDEPENDENT * Money, power, ambition, political and royal conspiracy, a young heiress in distress, a fortune-hunter shot down in the street: you couldn't make it up. You don't have to. The story of 14-year-old Lady Bette Percy, married off by her grandmother to Thomas Thynn, a middled-aged rake, for control of her Northumberland estates, is the stuff of Gothic romance or Restoration blood and thunder drama. -- Iain Finlayson * THE TIMES * Pickford has marshalled an extraordinary historical cast and provides an exciting and truly well-informed whodunit. -- Alexandra Henton * THE FIELD * Pickford's narrative conjures up scenes straight from a Gainsborough melodrama - murder, mystique and wealth set to the backdrop of the sleazy world of London's taverns and brothels, to the grandeur of Syon and Petworth's vast estates. The prose is vivid and atmospheric, where a trip to the gallows was the height of entertainment. As they say, truth is stranger than fiction. -- Lyndsy Spence * THE MITFORD SOCIETY * ..this meticulously researched story of a scandalous marriage and sensational murder is engrossingly told. * CHOICE MAGAZINE * Pickford has unearthed a fascinating early example of the modern murder. * THE INDEPENDENT * Money, power, ambition, political and royal conspiracy, a young heiress in distress, a fortune-hunter shot down in the street: you couldn't make it up. You don't have to. The story of 14-year-old Lady Bette Percy, married off by her grandmother to Thomas Thynn, a middled-aged rake, for control of her Northumberland estates, is the stuff of Gothic romance or Restoration blood and thunder drama. -- Iain Finlayson * THE TIMES *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » History » Europe » Great Britain » General
Home » Books » History » Modern » 18th Century
Home » Books » History » Modern » 17th Century
Home » Books » Nonfiction » Crime » Murder » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Lady Bette and the Murder of MR Thynn: A Scandalous Story of Marriage and Betrayal in Restoration England on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top