SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

The Kitchen House
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A coming-of-age story set in 18th century Virginia, perfect for fans of The Help and The Postmistress.

About the Author

Over the past ten years, Kathleen Grissom and her husband have been restoring an old plantation tavern in Virginia. While researching the plantation's past, Kathleen found an old map on which, not far from their home, was the notation, 'Negro Hill.' Unable to determine the story of its origin, local historians suggested that it most likely represented a tragedy. This became the inspiration behind THE KITCHEN HOUSE.This is Kathleen Grissom's first novel.

Reviews

"I recommend the novel THE KITCHEN HOUSE by Kathleen Grissom. This novel, like THE HELP, does important work: it factors in the experience not only of African-Americans under enslavement, but of poor white Europeans, who, during the same period of American history, were often indentured." * Alice Walker, author of The Color Purple and Pulitzer Prize winner *
"The plantation's social order's emphasis on violence, love, power, and corruption provides a trove of tension and grit, while the many nefarious doings will keep readers hooked to the twisted, yet hopeful, conclusion." * Publishers Weekly *
"A heart-breaking novel set on a 1790s Virginia plantation. A page-turning romantic tragedy." * ASOS magazine, April 2013 *
"A powerful, well written story that doesn't pull any punches." * Choice, April 2013 *
"a potent picture of servant life in plantation America." * Sainsburys Magazine *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Kitchen House on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top