Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

King Arthur
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

M.K. Hume is a retired academic and is married with two sons.

Reviews

In King Arthur: Warrior of the West, retired Queensland academic M K Hume fuses history and myth to offer an imaginative retelling of the latter years of Arthur's reign. This is historical fiction of the most bloodthirsty and roistering kind: in the fiercely tribal society Hume conjures up, heads exist to be cloven apart, limbs to be hacked off. Hume manages to cram a tremendous number of events into the one book--battles, romances, political machinations-- even a sadistic serial killer. Finishing this dense novel, you almost feel as if you've read an entire trilogy, yet Hume tells her story with such gusto that the pace never flags. While puritans may balk at Hume's liberal interpretation of the Arthurian legends, in the main part, her changes make the characters more recognisably human and less archetypal. Many of the changes also give the book a greater air of authenticity, such as the characters' names being altered to imbue them with a more vernacular Celtic quality; thus, Arthur becomes 'Artor' and the more familiar Guinevere, 'Wenhaver'. Although the sequel to Dragon's Child, Warrior of the West reads perfectly well as an independent novel. Fans of Fiona McIntosh, David Gemmell's Troy and Manfredi's 'Alexander' series will greedily devour this book. Leonie Jordan is a high school English teacher and former bookseller

Praise for M. K. Hume: 'Hume brings the bloody, violent, conniving world vividly to life...will appeal to those who thrill to Game of Thrones and other tales of intersecting, ever-warring, noble lineages * Kirkus Review *
Historical fiction of the most bloodthirsty and roistering kind * Australian Bookseller & Publishers Magazine *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling King Arthur: Warrior of the West (King Arthur Trilogy 2): An unputdownable historical thriller of bloodshed and betrayal on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top